We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place it used to be”
Review of Gotham Town

Gotham Town
Attraction details
east kilbride
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the place it used to be”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Went in here as I had been in this place 30 years ago took a few friends with me what an experience place was Minging walked across the carpet and was sticking to it feels like it hadnt been cleaned since I was last there .
Smell was overpowering just turned around and left
How this place gets any ccustomers beats me could be such a great place with its gothic decko
Require a gas mask it so overpowering just won't ever go back

Helpful?
2 Thank johnc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    7
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun fun and more fun”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yeah ok, not the most decadent of pubs in city centre, but what you see is what you get, bar staff brilliant, nice chatter especially the boys.............. you know who i mean, blue eyes, it could do with refurbishment, especially where it is situated and would probably do a roaring trade, but on the whole its worth a visit, just dont really touch anything lol

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Red610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best way to get drunk in Newcastle”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The above reviews miss the point. Gotham Town is amazing if you are going for a big lash up with an even bigger group. The drinks are cheap and the staff super friendly and helpful. The pub might not be the cleanest (use straws and don't touch anything) but still we go back every year with our fail- its amazing!!

Helpful?
3 Thank emilyshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester-le-street
1 review
“Poor Poor Poor”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Awful experience at Gotham Town. Place very dirty, carpets disgusting, furniture in terrible state - ripped seats etc. , TV didn't work properly, service bad - like so many of these city centre pubs these days the young women behind the bar seem to think you're privileged to be there (Are you listening Head of Steam????). Charged £3.40 for a pint of Amstel, which seemed to have been interfered with - the worst thing you can do, in my opinion. I gave the pint back and left, a little wiser, but having wasted £3.40.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“---! Unreal how dog it is.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My god it's dire in here. No atmosphere, false offers and smells like back door of mcdonalds

Helpful?
2 Thank Kingkenny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Town also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Gotham Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing