We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service and food exceeded expectations.”

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $71
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill is located in the city centre of Newcastle. The menu has everything you would imagine from a traditional steak house with the superior quality you would expect from Marco Pierre White.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“service and food exceeded expectations.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had booked the hotel as an overnight stay , which was a package including Dinner and Breakfast . Everything about the sevice and staff was exceptional. nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were friendly. Little things like pouring your wine or water or for breakfast actually bringing your toast to your table are little extras that sadly have disapeared from Hotels
The food was excellent. Rib Eye steak to die for and 3 great courses leaving us both more than satisfied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    489
    271
    106
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely lunch! ”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff in all areas from reception to restaurant. Festive lunch was excellent value and great taste! A really enjoyable afternoon!

Helpful?
Thank Inspectorsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OK food & service, odd decor and lighting”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The MPW Steakhouse is attached to a reasonably new local hotel and as soon as I walked in it had an odd feeling about it. The decor is best described as "odd" and the lighting is a mess, it's far too bright. It feels neither steakhouse nor intimate restaurant, rather a staff canteen attached to a hotel.

The service wasn't bad - friendly, if a little uncomfortable and unsure of itself. As a steakhouse you'd expect an amazing steak and it wasn't a particular disspointment, but also nothing that special.

Overall, MPW's Steakhouse was a disappointment. Newcastle needs some really good new dining options and this one falls short of being somewhere that you'd want to go back to. The steak is as good, but the service and atmosphere better over the other side of twn

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn-LondonW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for an early meal before heading out to The Stand Comedy club. It was our first time at this restaurant. From the moment we arrived the level of service from the staff and their attention to detail and knowledge of the menu was first rate. We both had soup for starter which was lovely. We thought we would treat ourselves and went for the fillet steak with triple cooked chips and onion rings. We just wanted the steak to go on forever it was good. My wife cut hers into small bits so she could savour it for longer. The best steak we have had in a very long time. We were both greedy so went for deserts. I had the chocolate mousse and the wife had eton mess. The waitress had a comical moment when as she was trying to hand my wife her desert the glass toppled. In trying to save my wifes she ended up dropping the other one aswell. No harm was done and we laughed off the incident as the waitress stood there panic stricken. Desserts take 2 after being delivered safely to the table were wonderful. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. Great food. Great service and lovely atmosphere :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Sirius3ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“#1 Restaurant in Newcastle for Steaks”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Yet Again Marco Pierre Whites delivers. My son wanting to have his 21st Family Gathering there and it didn't disappoint. The food and service is without doubt top of the tree. The Steaks are juicy and plentiful and the sauces are fresh. The service is unobtrusive and there when required.
GOOD JOB - SON ENJOYED HIS 21st.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timsc-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Pierre White Steakhouse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Marco Pierre White Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing