We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dean & Daniela

Dean & Daniela
Ranked #369 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had lunch at this lovely cafe just near Paddy Freeman's Park. overall the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff are excellent. My only disappointment is that the quality of the bread can let down the range of choices for sandwiches. I had the special club sandwich with pesto dressing which was lovely. The bread I chose was ciabatta but this was not the crusty, open texture bread I expected instead being very soft and not as good as you could get at a local supermarket. My husband had the spicy chicken and bacon pasta which was delicious and a very generous portion The coffee was lovely too. I would recommend the cafe to anyone and we will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    28
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb range and quality of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had great difficulty choosing what to have as there were so many good-looking and sounding meals and cakes. My son had the carrot and coriander soup (MASSIVE helping) and I had a bruschetta with salad. After much deliberation I chose a piece of ricotta and pear torte - beautiful. The prices are very reasonable given the quality and portion sizes. I'll definitely be going again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really good snack food but service needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have popped in here quite a few times in recent years as it is conveniently located. There is a great array of things to eat with coffee, and salads and snacks. The decor is OK although it does feel as if there are too many chairs stuffed into a space. The staff seem to not bother too much with customers as they are so busy - there is a feeling of complacency at Dean and Daniela's. The food is very tasty but it is not a great dining experience due to the ambiance and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow soggy boring overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Terrible coffe and horrible wet sandwiches. Completely over priced. Took half an hour to get a takeaway sarndwich. Don't normally write reviews but that place Is embarrassingly rubbish at really simple stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pooredrawings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great little Delli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Went for lunch with a few friends, did have to queue to be served but it was well worth it. The staff were friendly and attentive. Lovely atmosphere and can you can sit outside if the weather permits. Food excellent 6 of us went and nothing left on the plates. tempting variety of cakes and all were reasonably priced. Would definitely go back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nor5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean & Daniela also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to Dean & Daniela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing