We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here as it is close to the Assembly rooms where we were at a wedding party. The rooms were slightly discounted due to the Bride reserving multiple rooms for guests that were coming.

The room was clean, modern, with a very comfy bed. The bathroom was very nice, with a lovely shower, and speakers in the bathroom so you can hear the music from the TV when having a shower.
The towels were very big, not the normal small towels you normally get in hotels, and soft too.
In the room you also got a fridge which has water, coke lemonade, crisps, kit kat etc in which is complimentary, something which you don’t always get in hotels which is a nice touch.

Our room was overlooking the road outside, but could not hear any noise from cars, or people in the street.

Breakfast was great too. It was a buffet style where you go up and help yourself, but the cooked stuff was fresh and really tasty. They didn’t put loads out so you knew they kept topping it up with new stuff that hadn’t been sitting there a while. They also had pastries, yoghurts, fruit and cereal for anyone who didn’t want a cooked breakfast.

In summary, great room, fantastic location in the middle of the city centre, fantastic breakfast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Fabulous if you are arriving by train as it is less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Staff really friendly - but that is to be expected "up North". 3pm check-in stated on the reservation but we arrived at 12.30, checked in straight away and had access to our room. The room was well laid out and clean. There was a blown lamp in the shower room which they should have picked up but we informed reception and it was changed. All in all a good hotel and we will definitely consider using this chain again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on Friday night and found the staff as friendly and helpful as any really good hotel we have stayed at! The"northern" welcome really is true and everyone seemed pleased that you were staying at the hotel and visiting their city. The room is ideal and ready made for the modern traveller including accessory points for the TV which includes a HDMI port- ideal for I-pad/ USB plug in. We could view pics we took on the Northumberland Coast on the TV! The beds are comfy and the free mini bar a surprise in today's world as most hotels charge for almost anything these days! Breakfast was plentiful with the usual fayre on offer. All in all I would recommend a stay here for both service and comfort.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mirek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were happy to return to the Hotel Indigo Newcastle, this time for a longer stay. As expected, we were welcomed back by the outstanding staff, and our accommodation was excellent. Clean, quiet, comfortable - this was the perfect home base for exploring Newcastle and surrounding areas. This time, we had the opportunity to dine in the Marco Pierre White restaurant - the food was outstanding! On a busy Friday night, and after making a last minute reservation, we were treated like VIPs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here, Staff on reception and bar could not have been more friendly and looked after me really well. I felt so welcome here.

Bedrooms so modern and I had an amazing nights sleep, located right in the heart of town minutes from Central station and the night life but not a bit of noise or disturbance.

The pricing of this Hotel was excellent value whilst just high enough to keep out the big stag groups, with free wifi, a little mini bar of snacks (free) and one of the best showers I have used at a hotel in a fair while, with a good supply of shower gels etc, loved the music from tv plays in the bathroom too.

I visit Newcastle a lot for business and normally stay in Quayside but will be very very tempted to use this hotel on future stays.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank ScubaCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We've stayed on two separate occasions in the last couple of months and both times have been brilliant. The location - really close to the station and a short walk from shops, pubs, restaurants is great, but it's the service that gets Indigo the extra star from me.
We had a lovely warm welcome at reception and great service in the bar and restaurant. The rooms are good - we stayed in both a top floor room with a balcony and a lower floor room. Both were very comfortable, fab bathrooms and free stuff in the mini bar.
Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room was good, would have been even better if the sun had shone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile


Booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband's 30th. We arrived earlier than planned which wasn't a problem as the friendly, welcoming staff on the check in desk allowed us to go to our room which had been decorated with a balloon and a chocolate birthday message - much to my husbands surprise! (Thank you to Mark Winter, Operations Manager, for organising this!)

We stayed in a balcony room which was comfortable, modern and immaculately clean. The room was well equipped e.g iPod docking station, tv, bathroom speakers etc. Free items in the mini bar were an added bonus. Despite being in a central location, noise was not an issue.

I had arranged for a group of 14 friends to surprise my husband and all were made to feel welcome in the hotel bar. A good range of drinks were on offer and there was a good atmosphere for early evening.

Breakfast was excellent; a range of continental and English breakfast items were exactly what we needed after a night out! We were seated quickly and brought tea/coffee and toast and then were able to help ourselves to food which was plentiful.

Check out was quick and efficient, and once again the staff were friendly and keen to find out whether we had enjoyed our stay.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to others. Great location and great value for money. Definitely one of the better hotels that we have stayed in.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NikMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $95 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing