We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Beautiful classy hotel in an excellent central location.Staff are very efficent and polite. Close to Eldon Square for shopping. We walked to Chinatown for a lovely meal before going to the metro arena which was a five minute taxi ride away. Loved our stay. Very very special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi NoraG19,

Thank you for leaving such an excellent review. I am really pleased to read that you loved your stay, and we can't wait to have you stay with us again. In the meantime, why not keep in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter?

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,471 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Newcastle is a city full of decent hotels and when booked in advance can feature some pretty good prices. Hotel Indigo in terms of price range was just above market average thus I was hoping for a good experience and something different.

Location: about a 5 minute walk to the train station and 20mins walk to the riverside. If you are new to Newcastle make sure you have your smartphone map with you as the hotel isn't visible from the station.

Check-in: swift and quick, the ladies and gentlemen at the front desk welcomed me to the hotel and within minutes I was shown to the elevator. There were some slight issues with the key cards but this was quickly resolved.

Room: the room size is cozy (the bathroom even cozier) but everything was nicely designed and colour matched. The ambiance was comfortable and the complimentary refreshments in the mini bar (can of fizzy, water and crisps) was a nice welcome. I do love the Aveda toiletries too! However, some minor details let the room down; firstly, the bed sheets whilst comfy was getting worned out and this was very evident. Secondly, there were some stains on the wall (near the kettle) and coffee table. Perhaps a previous guest was too enthusiastic mixing the in-room tea & coffee.

Check-out: even swifter than check in

Final Verdict: I do like this hotel despite some details needing improvement. The staff provided great service including the night shift guys. Shall I return to Newcastle I will defo look at returning, though there really is quite a range of hotels to choose from.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Aucklandholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi BeanTravello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such valuable feedback, and we really appreciate your kind comments regarding our wonderful staff. In the future please don't hesitate to speak to our Front of House staff if you have any issues with your room. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

In simple terms, one of the best all round hotels I've ever stayed in, and one of the best reviews I've written. ( in fact I'm writing this from the hotel. I had room 417 on 4th floor 18/dec)

Location. Excellent
Staff. Excellent ( super friendly )
Cleanliness Excellent
Room facilities. Better than most five star hotels!
Parking. On site £12
Value. Excellent. ( I paid £89 b&b exe room)
Wi-fi. Free everywhere in the hotel.
Bar area. Excellent(Think Funky wine )
Minibar in room. Free

This hotel is how every hotel should be. Clean , fresh, modern, quality. Even the small details , like stream free mirror in the bathroom, bathrobes, really good quality towels bed linen. iron, blankets minibar.

This week I've stayed in a Marriot,macdonlad hotel and other boutique hotel in three different cities. All supposed to be 4*. However, you are paying for the brand not the quality of the hotel. None come close to this hotel.

Would I stay again at a hotel indigo - Absolutely!
Could they improve? Perhaps better orange juice! , but frankly who cares . This place is as good as a hotel gets.






Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank read_review_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi read_review_first,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent review. We really do value our guest feedback, so i am extremely pleased to read such great comments from one of tripadvisor's senior contributors. We hope you visit Newcastle and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Arrived after a 27 hr trip from Melbourne and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, ensuring a quick checking for me. For the 2 weeks I was there all staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Meals were very good, the music and bar area very enjoyable.

Look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonymash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi Tonymash,

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friends birthday and was really impressed with the modern ,bright feel about the hotel.
The bedroom overlooked the tops of buildings so to compensate they had a photomontage of the Tyne bridge in the room which made you feel you had a room with a view. The bed was large and very comfy had the best nights sleep and did not hear any noise from the street.
There was a small balcony to enjoy the summer sun and when it got too hot the air conditioning was easily controlled and did make a difference when turned on!
The staff in reception, bar ,restaurant all were very friendly and helpful.
The location was perfect easy to walk into town do do some serious retail therapy.
I would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Cannot remember room number but one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf4uAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi Golf4uAlicante,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. Why not keep in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter?

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Just home from a one night stay at the hotel indigo. The hotel and rooms are stunning and the customer service second to none, nothing was too much trouble. Every member of staff was fantastic but Colleen really stood out as exceptional. It was in a good location. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank loggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi loggirl,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am pleased to read that you found our staff to be exceptional and i shall pass on your kind comments and personally thank Colleen for standing out. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just arrived home after a one night stay at hotel Indigo.

The hotel is in an excellent position.

Car parking was easy and reasonably priced (£12) when you consider the alternatives.

Check in was efficient. All staff were friendly.

The champagne was good value for money.

The room was large, clean and modern.

A few things were not quite right: the shower was hanging off the wall.

The air con was noisy, it made a whirring noise - even though I switched it off.

We were given a disabled room - I know I've just turned 60 - but what was that about?

One more irritant - noisy revellers in the hotel corridor 2am in the morning - although I suppose, it was Friday night in Newcastle after all.

Having said that we would stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi KWDEW,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $95 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing