We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel before walking Hadrian's Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel before walking Hadrian's Wall”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed the night before we started walking the Hadrian's Wall path. Directions from the station could have been clearer - it was really easy to find in the end but we had to ask for directions. Check-in was really easy and the room smart and clean. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel choosing to go for a walk around the quay but the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekendtrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Weekendtrip100,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I hope you enjoyed walking the Hadrian's Wall path and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    588
    149
    24
    10
See reviews for
186
1,020
86
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived after a four hour train journey to find, the bar and lounge both full of non -residents as well as residents. There was literally nowhere to sit : that is their care, Hotel Indigo have for their residents!!! On booking from a well known agency, I had asked for a bath but was told at reception that there were no baths at this hotel and that the restaurant was full.

As I did not want to sit in my room all night, I went down the road to find a hotel lounge I could sit in ! But at this price, with no space in any of the public areas, I would have been better just getting a B and B for a third of the price. Bedrooms nice but when you pay for an expensive hotel you expect to be able to use the public areas as well. Never again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elise4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Elise4000,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
764 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at The Indigo Newcastle in the evening and the place was very busy but after a few minutes wait we had what was probably the quickest check-in ever. We were given a large green envelope which contained the key card, WIFI access code and hotel information.

Having booked an executive room we were upgraded to a room with a balcony being Priority Club Platinum members, the room was compact but the décor was impressive with a yellow theme, there are different colour schemes in other rooms.

The room was light and airy with a hugely comfortable bed, there was a novelty pack of 'Sweeteas' sweet flavoured tea bags on the bed as well as a Kindle for use during our stay. The wall mounted TV had a large range of channels, there were tea and coffee facilities, a complimentary mini bar consisting red/white wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks. There was a lot of storage space and there was a pair of slippers and a bathrobe each.

The bathroom was fine with a powerful rain shower and a good selection of Aveda toiletries.

We had breakfast in the restaurant where we were warmly greeted and given a run down of what was available. There was a large continental buffet selection but as the hot selection had not been laid out we were given a menu to choose from which arrived quickly.

A very pleasant hotel in Grainger Town, opposite the Assembly Rooms, a few minutes walk from the railway station and close to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Paul Legate,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us such an excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Indigo Newcastle in the future! In the meantime why not keep in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter?

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for a night as I was attending Steve Harper's testimonial match at St James Park. From check in to check out the staff were so friendly and attentive. The rooms was a good size and really modern and you even get complimentary water and snacks in the room. Parking is available on site for a small charge and the location for the hotel could not be better - city centre is five minutes and St James' in ten minute. Only down side for me is I sleep with my window open (rooms do have AC though) and the noise from the street the next morning could be herd in the room. However it is the city centre so you have to expect traffic noise. Of you close the window then the noise is negligible. If I were to travel to Newcastle again this is wher I would stay without a doubt. As an aside the hotel is also home to the Marco Pierre White restaurant which is apparently very good although I did not eat there so can not comment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Myplant,

Thank you for the excellent review! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Newcastle.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on September 1st we rate the hotel as very good it was clean and very spacious.The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them.The only thing that we found not acceptable was room service,we waited 40 minutes for the food to arrive it came to the room plated up with no cover over the plates so the food was cold the chips were that hard that they flew off the plate when you tried to cut them. for a 4 star Hotel the food was very disappointing..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Carol C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am very pleased that you found Hotel Indigo Newcastle to be clean and spacious, and I shall pass on your lovely comments to all the employees. May I take this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for the disappointing room service experience you encountered. I take this sort of feedback extremely seriously so rest assured I will be taking steps to ensure these sorts of errors do not happen again.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordie Land
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

what a beautiful hotel this is, the décor is second to none...stayed in a 3rd floor King Room with my boyfriend for a wedding do and it was gorgeous...everything you could possibly want or need for a stay here in Newcastle...staff were lovely and very accommodating...superb!!...bar was very busy at night and defo looked the part from every aspect of this beautiful hotel of luxury...I adored the colours everywhere and I would recommend all to stay here...had a great sleep in a lovely quiet room...rainfall shower...comfy chairs and lovely surroundings...tea coffee bar...everything was great!!

Room Tip: room 328 was a great room to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raven1GeordieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi raven1GeordieLand,

Thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent review! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just stayed one night, but would certainly stay here again. The staff were friendly and helpful. A short walk from the train station and generally very central to the hub of Newcastle. The breakfast options were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Mark R,

Thank you for the lovely review. I'm extremely pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Why not keep in contact with us via Twitter and facebook for all the latest deals and information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle?

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing