We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A prefect hotel and visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A prefect hotel and visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The reception staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. We got a room upgrade to a suite as it was our wedding anniversary and it was lovely. Room was prefect and had a large balcony (not the greatest view).
Everything you need is in the room. Went for a meal at the Macro Pierre White steakhouse and the food was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful and would go back anytime.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and was not disturb at all, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad_as_cheese72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Mad_as_cheese72,

Thank you, we would love to have you back anytime too! Please join us on Facebook to see what we have to offer for next time, I’m sure you’ll find something to your liking :)

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    551
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
174
949
79
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a big group back in may, The location of the hotel is perfect, Within walking distance of the train station and all the main shopping and bars. The rooms were stunning and the showers were great. Thought the staff at the hotel and dealt with any issuses quickly. Think the free mini bar in the rooms is a nice touch, Although only one bag of crisps and one kitkat for a room that sleeps 2 people? We didnt opt for the breakfast at the hotel as there is a whetherspoons on the doorstep of the hotel, much cheaper!

Room Tip: No complaints with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kozzie_Lumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Kozzie_Lumps,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to learn you enjoyed your group visit so much!

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This really is a great boutique hotel and the room i stayed in was fitted out to a high standard and seemed almost new.
Greeting from hotel staff was second to none despite the fact that the area was buzzing due to a 'cheap champagne' promotion which me and my husband quickly took up.
Little things like Kindle left in room and access to a balcony were a nice touch...and a visit to Marco PW's brasserie just topped off the experience.
Would most certainly recommend.

Room Tip: For a small extra charge you can get a balcony on the 4th floor - wonderful place to sip champagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Terry M,

Thanks for recommending us! I would love to see you again soon, please feel free to follow us on Twitter or check out our website before booking to find out which of our great deals and promotions suit you best.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Modern tasteful decor. Small bedroom and very noisy street. (Was overlooking front of hotel.) Broken kettle and nowhere to plug I. Where located? Came back for a relaxing drink in bar after going to concert and was overtaken by guitar and singers having impromptu jam..... Noisy and annoying and no staff stopped them. Ruined our evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi B T,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry if you did not enjoy the live entertainment we provided for our guests on the night of your stay. If you have any concerns about noise or if you feel you need to raise a particular issue to us then please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager who will be happy to assist you next time you stay with us.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to pick my son up from Uni recently and Stayed on a saturday night.t
Hotel is a Clever concversion of a 60s hotel- decor to look stylish- Nice touches
Staff Highly attentive, friendly and informal.
THey bent over backwards to get my son and I a Table in the Maro Pierre white Grill and the food was good.
One minus -- Hollow fibre pillow and Duvets - Thats Travelodge standard - I would expect slightly better than that
I was travelling on my own and felt very safe in this hotel despite it being Newcastle on a Saturday night - I will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Kay S,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to learn how safe you felt while staying with us and I will certainly pass on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were going to the Newcastle Arena so decided to treat ourselves to Afternoon Tea. The staff were very good but we were disappointed with the Afternoon Tea, there was only half of a very small tartlet of quiche and a couple of sandwiches, the rest was scones with cream and cakes with cream, cream and more cream. Half and half savoury and sweet would have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelled79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Travelled79,

Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to discuss your comments with our Food and Beverage manager to help in our mission to continuously improve the service we provide.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool of Muckhart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here the last time we went to the football. Great location, close to town and close to the footie ground. The rooms were first class. Its got a small gym which has limited equipment but still good for a small work out after the drive down. Staff were excellent. Will be back next time we are down for a match.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi JonW85,

Thanks for your great review! Maybe you could try a tour of S.t James’ Park football stadium on your next visit, we would certainly be more than happy to organise that for you if you let us know on check in.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing