We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly & professional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly & professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights from the 19th of April. First impressions were very good with a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff. Our room was on the 4th floor and offered access to a balcony / terrace which was very nice. The room was compact in size. However it was well appointed and the fixtures are very modern. The bathroom was fitted out to a high specification and had a lovely walk in shower with rainfall shower head. There was a complimentary mini bar included in the room rate too! We were on a bed and breakfast rate and also had dinner in the MPW restaurant one evening. The service at dinner, breakfast and in the bar is so friendly and efficient. The staff are a credit to the hotel and you can see they really work hard as a team to look after everyone. It is interesting to read the other reviews but we could not fault the place. I can see why some people might think it is a little on the expensive side but we thought it was really good value for money. It is only few minutes walk from the train station so really accessible and convenient too. We will definitely return to stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have access to a sunny roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi David J,

Thank you very much for your great review! It really makes my day reading reviews like this :)

We love to hear all kinds of feedback so if there is anything you feel we could improve on and make your next stay even better then please let us know when we next see you.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    525
    133
    23
    8
See reviews for
167
905
76
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the indigo in Newcastle, the rooms were clean, although not a warm feeling due to the decor, mostly black and not my taste, there are some complimentary drinks and snacks which is a nice touch. Loved the bar area, really comfortable, good and drinks very expensive, £20 for one burger and one cider, plus a £2.00 service charge, good choice of breakfast, nice bread which is unusual in hotels at breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello mrcooljanny,

Thank you very much for the great review!

It was important for us to have luxury food and drinks available to business travellers wishing to relax, and to pleasure guests looking forward to a treat! We're so glad you enjoyed that :)

All of your comments are appreciated and have been passed to Management to identify any ways we could keep trying to better our guest experience to be the Number 1 Hotel in Newcastle. Please come back again and come and let me know at the front desk if we've managed that if you like :)

Take care!

Kind Regards
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Uk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

To be honest this IHG brand is not for me, I booked it because I got a 2 for 1 deal. The hotel is in a good location not far away from the central railway station. The car park at the hotel is good and safe but it costs £12 per day for guests. Rooms are VERY feminine so not really suited to the solo or business traveler. Staff are nice and friendly, we did not eat in the hotel as the "Marco Pierre White" restaurant did not appeal to us.
I do understand That this type of hotel will appeal to some.
Be prepared for noise at all hours as Newcastle people party VERY hard, don't book this hotel if you want a relaxing city break.
Check your bill when you leave we were over charged by £99, but to be fair it was sorted out really quickly.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello chrism1966,

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback.

It's a shame you didn't find the many wonderful things we pack into our hotels for all our guests to enjoy. Our rooms have a few different colour schemes and if you like you can request a lovely Bottle Green room when you book and you may find the room has a more suitable feel. Our fantastic Marco Pierre White restaurant has a focus on finest quality steak, but otherwise has an incredibly varied and tantilising menu; next time you have the opportunity try us and you will be pleasantly surprised :)

We are a busy city centre hotel, but with any issues during your stay such as a noise issue, please do not hesitate to inform our night team and they will deal with the problem efficiently. Our 24 hour staff are well-trained to be a consistent support structure for anything you may need to make your stay as relaxing as possible, perfect for a quiet weekend getaway!

Hopefully we will have a future opportunity to change your mind, but your comments are still very welcome and have been passed to Management to ensure everything is being done for our guests :)

Kind Regards
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recentley had 1 nights stay at Hotel Indigo. The staff were very friendly, polite and knowledgable about the area. The rooms matched the pictures on the web site and were very clean and comforable. The reception staff went out of there way to get some diary free milk I needed for breakfast. We had sunday lunch and breakfast in the hotel, both been of a high quality and the restaurant staff were all efficient and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Helen L,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received during your time with us. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good in most respects but the film channels never work without calling reception at least twice if at all during your stay - very irritating if you're staying for a few nights and are bored - also no offers just £10 a film. No other complaints - so if you're not fussed about film channels you will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi John E,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to learn about your issue with the movie channels we provide to our guests. I will certainly look into this and hopefully have this resolved for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this Hotel. The staff were very friendly and polite and very effective, the rooms were very good too. It is quite "trendy" but not pretentious and although I didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant I did have breakfast and chose the smoked haddock. It was expertly cooked and very delicious. Would definitely stay here again and would strongly recommend it. I stayed over a weekend and it was very reasonable as well. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDG1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi RDG1871,

Thanks a million for your wonderful review! Hopefully we will see you here again soon. In the meantime, why not friend us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter to find out what we are up to?

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle. The staff was excellent!! We felt welcome the minute we entered the hotel. They did everything they could to accommodate us. Elisha at the front desk was great. Jonathan, Rachel, Fabrizio and Hani were great as well. The rooms were neat, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Castle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Margaret P,

Well thank you very much indeed! What a wonderful review, I hope you are already thinking of coming back to see us again soon?

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing