We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed with my boyriend on a Saturday evening for a belated valentine weekend away in Newcastle. We only booked the room and breakfast- the valentine package offered was too pricey!
Arrived at hotel on the saturday at 2pm to check-in. Location of hotel is perfect, minutes from the station and surrounding bars and restaurants, shopping area.
We had to join a queue to check in which wasnt very efficient. And then we had to wait in the bar until 3pm for our room, which was a pain, but this reason was because we were upgraded to the Bridal suite through our loyality card...which turned the situation into amazing!! We had a complimentary mini bar of beers, wine, water, soft drinks and snacks. The balcony with "sunbeds" was awesome, and it just so happened to be sunny which was a bonus..
The room was a corner suite so was very spacious, lovely modern decor with black, white and bright oranges. The bathroom was fab, 2 sinks, and very large walk in shower, all with complimentary lotions and potions!

The bar area was waiter service which was nice, although slightly pricey with a 10% service charge added! We did get some nice nibbles of wasabi peas, peanuts and vegetable crisps to go with our drinks.

Before hitting the town on the Saturday evening we noticed the hotel was really busy and the ambience in the restaurant / bar area was buzzing. There was a live singer which seemed nice. We didnt eat there for dinner but did have the breakfast in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was yummy!!! Continental and full english....good quality food - the black pudding and sausage was very tasty.

Overall this hotel was superb, and we would definitely go back there!
We were extra lucky to receive the upgrade, as Im sure the other rooms were just as nice.

Room Tip: If the weather is good, upgrade to a corner suite or room on 4th floor with balcony. The added luxur...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinaColada79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi PinaColada79,

Thank you for your very positive review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to out corner suite and that you used it to the full potential. See you soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed here as part of a friends hen weekend and was so impressed.The rooms were amazing, comfy beds and awesome showers!

Service was also fanstastic. The staff made us feel very welcome, answered any questions we had and made sure our entire hen party could sit together in the bar and over breakfast - which when there are 19 of you is no easy task. The staff even brought extra tea and milk to our room at 4am after a big night out!

I would definately stay here on my next visit to Newcastle and have already recommended it to friends and family! The location is close enough to town to walk to the shops and bars but far enought away so you arent hearing loud music till all hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamour1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi glamour1978,

Thanks for your great review! We really know the importance of having a cup of tea at 4am, we were very happy to oblige ;)

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

While organising a ladies weekend in Newcastle I was recommended Hotel Indigo. So glad I was as the reservations team were fantastic to work with and they assisted me with my group booking perfectly.

My group had a fantastic stay and all commented on the style and decor of the hotel for such a reasonable price.

The extra touches like having breakfast and a mini bar included just made the stay even better.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dynartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi Dynartw,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Ladies weekend!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night on a business trip. Also we ate in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse restaurant.
Hotel refurbed to a high spec, very modern thorughout. Lots of little special extras :- free mini bar in room, a kindle stocked with a selection of books etc. Good quality hairdryer, which is not always the case in hotels! Rooms and hotel generally were a little cold, but that is really the only negative. Overall excellent service.

Food in the restaurant was lovely. Good quality steaks ,and the best chips ever!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi AmandaF9,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent from start to finish.... complimentary mini bar and spotlessly clean.. really comfortable bed :). great location for both the city and for metro arena which we were visiting for a concert.... great to have MPW attached to hotel..... only let down was car parking maybe this could be free but not to detract from a truly five star experience

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi stumel,

Wow! What an honour! ‘best hotel in Newcastle’ has a good ring to it doesn’t it? ;)

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo Newcastle with my wife for a couple of nights over St Valentine's Day. Upon arrival we were met by very friendly staff and booked in without fuss. Our room was on the first floor directly next to the gym (rm 128 if you want to avoid it although I don't think anyone used it whilst we were in our room) and quite clearly, the room had not been prepped properly prior to our arrival. The room was freezing cold, the laminate floor had not been cleaned properly around the edges of the room and the complimentary drinks and snacks had not been supplied in the mini-bar...we asked a cleaner on the landing if the mini-bar could be stocked and this was done whilst we were out during the afternoon. That all said, the room was airy with plenty of space, a very comfortable bed, large t.v. and great shower-room. When stocked the mini-bar had cokes, water, kitkats and crisps - all very welcome in the early hours...Just one final thing about the room, the noise inside the hotel, e.g. people walking about, lifts and other doors closing was very loud - I stay in hotel rooms 4 or 5 nights a week and I've never noticed so much 'internal' noise'.
Downstairs was, however, a different story. The hotel bar was buzzing on both nights, the staff were probably the best I've ever come across in a hotel and it's on the basis of the atmosphere and service in the bar that I've rated the hotel very good. I would definitely recommend the hotel bar even if not staying at the hotel. We also ate at the hotel Marco Pierre White restaurant. I've reviewed this separately but suffice to say it was excellent and well worth a visit.
In terms of location, the hotel is situated just off the city centre being only a 5 minute walk to the main shops and bar areas and 10 minute stroll to the quayside. We also used the hotel car park which at £12 for 24 hours was very handy and good value for a city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi Brian K,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we would love to see you back in our lounge again soon..

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having spent a few hours in Newcastle this afternoon,my wife and decided to visit this hotel for some refreshment.What an amazing find,we sat in the lounge area and had a couple of glasses of wine.The staff were so welcoming and friendly and nothing appeared to be any trouble to them.The hotel had a real buzz about it and must be a great addition to the Newcastle hotel scene.We now want to come back and eat,as the menu looked very good.Thank you again,amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank alan2sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi alan2sue,

Thank you very much! We can’t wait to have you back, if you’re planning on having a meal, book nice and early to avoid disappointment.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $100 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing