We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic all round experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Wallsend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic all round experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last night as a treat for my birthday and we weren't disappointed. Our room was beautiful, modern and spotlessly clean. The bar served a vast choice of drinks including cocktails (which were my favourite) and included a live vocalist. We had a meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was amazing. But I think the one thing that really stands out above other hotels was the fantastic service! It really was second to none and we were made to feel so special and welcome. The location is great to if you wanted to explore the many bars Newcastle has to offer and within walking distance of the many shops the city has to offer. This truely was a birthday to remember!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHUFChairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi CHUFChairman,

Thanks a lot for your great review, we would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    561
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
178
967
80
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visit Newcastle regularly on business and have enjoyed a couple of stays at Hotel Indigo recently. The quality and service on offer would be hard to beat at twice the price and coupled with a superb central location (2 mins walk from railway station) it is simply the best hotel in the city, and I have stayed at most of them over the past few years! Oh, and just to complete the experience there is the Marco Pierre White restaurant on site as well. It is so good that I am even thinking of taking my wife there for a weekend break so that she can see what I have been raving about, although I might wait for the weather to improve a little!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi hairy_cornflake,

Thank you for your great review! We simply cannot wait to have you and your wife stay with us (in the summer!) Come and follow us on Twitter or add us on Facebook to find out our best upcoming deals.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

On arrival you're welcomed with very friendly and helpful staff, where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are amazing.
The bar is lovely and modern and the staff are ver attentive.
The bed was so comfy we didn't want to get out of it!
All in all a superb hotel, and special recognition to the staff who were the heart of a very busy hotel and were probably some of the nicest people we have met

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Matthew B,

Thanks a million for your ‘’superb’’ comment! It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed just one night in a balcony room. Great staff, superb food and a lovely room. Room was incredibly clean and the staff just couldn't have been more helpful.
Refreshing to stay in a hotel with local staff and a 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude to customer service. Other chains could learn a lot from Indigo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi SteveShrewsbury,

Thank you very much for the amazing and very positive comments! Come and follow us on Twitter to find out our best deals for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed last weekend. Fantastic location. The rooms were delightful. Spotless throughout. Didn't have breakfast. The staff were really lovely. Very helpful. Will stay again and will be recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Paula D,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a great review about us! Come back soon…

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed one night in January 2013 in one of the superior balcony rooms. The room was quite small, but the balcony would have been great if it hadn't been snowing a blizzard. The room was spotlessy clean and well-equipped, with a comfortable bed and a really very good bathroom. Great location for exploring the city.

We didn't make any use of the bar or restaurant but they looked nice, and the people on the front desk were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi John H,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such a positive review about us!

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed last Friday night, Hotel is excellent food very good, room a good size very well done out and spotless ,bathroom was great (avida products!) "Friday night fizz" means a bottle champers is £20 rather then £50 between 3-7pm, breakfast excellent. But what really makes this place lovely is the staff.......every single one of them I came across was professional, chatty and really seemed to enjoy their job. The only downside is that although the hotel is walking distance to everything the hotel its self is not in the nicest part of Newcastle, however I would not stop me recommending the Indigo to just about everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
JulieNorthumberland,

Thank you for your great comments! We would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing