We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great nights sleep”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
County Hotel
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here for a week, while working in Newcastle. The down stairs of the hotel has been updated, but think they have forgotten about the upstairs which needs a major update. The rooms are quite cold and all that's in the room is a small heater that doesn't do much. It very loud of a night with the bars by the hotel and where the bed was in my room there was a door in the hall outside so all night all you got was the door banging against the wall which shakes the bed. Another colleague also stayed in the hotel and was 2 floors lower and at the back of the hotel and she said she didn't sleep well with all the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauldon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was disappointed to note that you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us. I can confirm that all of our rooms are centrally heated and there are radiators with adjustable thermostats in all rooms. As our hotel dates back to the late 1800’s, there are some areas of the building which are cooler than others. We recognise that this can be a problem and always ensure there is a Duty Manager on hand 24hours a day to assist by providing further heating equipment, such a small heaters or extra bedding if necessary. I am confident that should the Duty Manager have been made aware of you discomfort that they would have tried their best to rectify the problem.

Our city centre location is a great advantage for our guests. Being in the heart of the city means we are just a stones throw from all that Newcastle has to offer and have excellent transports links. We understand that external noise can prove to be a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it and we have therefore fitted all of our outward facing rooms with secondary glazing. We also have a selection of rooms facing our courtyard car park which can be quieter as they do not face directly onto the road. Please accept my apologies for any disturbance you experienced during your stay. On you next visit to Newcastle, please do not hesitate to contact our Reception team prior to your arrival who will help to find a room to best suit your needs.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very nice stay only one blip stag party in room next door' after complaining night manager was very quick in stopping the noise reception staff were very helpful through out our stay,Sunday lunch was amazing and priced very reasonably.

Room Tip: Try to get back facing room as Newcastle very lively on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend break with us and that you found the team here to be helpful and friendly. In particular, thank you for your kind comments about our Reception and Night Management team. Unfortunately, as in all city centre hotels, there are times when our guests are disturbed by the inconsiderate behaviour of others within the hotel. Our Night Management team work very hard to ensure that any disturbance is kept to a minimum by carrying our regular patrols of the building. I am pleased to note that on reporting this issue to our Night Management team, the situation was resolved quickly and efficiently.

It was great to read that you also joined us for Sunday Lunch. Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased to note you had an enjoyable experience and that you found our Sunday Lunch offering to be great value for money.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My daughter and I stayed on 12th April 2014 (Gary Barlow at the Metro Arena! WOW !!). The hotel entrance was very spacious and welcoming. The girl on reception was also welcoming and friendly - a good start. Our room was ready although we had arrived before 2 p.m. It was a fairly small twin to the side of the hotel on the 2nd floor, but was clean and was ok for a night's stay. It was fairly noisy outside, but our sash windows, which were open (we couldn't close them and had to ring for help which came immediately) also had a covering screen. With regard to phoning for help the numbers for each department didn't produce results i.e. the number shown for reception rang and rang and we finally got through by ringing 0. Car Parking was very good, but was £10. We didn't initially order breakfast as it was advertised for either £15.99 or £16.99 (can't remember), but by booking it when we checked in we got it for £10 AND it was VERY NICE. Lots of choice - gorgeous sausage! and once again very friendly staff waiting-on. Hotel 10 minutes walk one way to the main shops and 10 minutes the other way to the arena. Would stay again and in fact my daughter and son in law hope to book in October for Michael Buble at the Arena - lucky them!

Room Tip: a high room floor at the rear would be a quieter option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNOWDROPCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted you chose to stay with us when visiting Metro Radio Arena and that you have shared such a positive review of our hotel with the Tripadvisor community.

Thank you for your kind comments relating to the friendly staff you encountered during your stay. The team here at The County work hard to ensure each and every one of our guests enjoys their time with us and that they would wish to return on their next visit to Newcastle.

I was pleased to note that you found your room to be of a high standard of cleanliness and that you had a good night sleep. Being located in the heart of the city is a great advantage for our guests but we do recognise that street noise can prove to be a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it. All of our outward facing rooms are fitted with secondary glazing in order to keep any disturbance to a minimum and it is great to read that this is appreciated by our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments relating to our breakfast offering. Our Gloucester Old Spot sausages have proven to be very popular with our guests! It is great to note that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and that you found it to be great value for money.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here on 4th April 2014 in order to see Dancing on Ice the final tour. After arriving by train it was a nice easy walk to the hotel where we received a very friendly welcome and were pleased to find our room ready even though it was only 1pm. We received a voucher for money off our first drink which we took advantage of after the show. The breakfast was included and was very good. There was a little bit of noise early morning but no more than other hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_g1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read that you chose to stay with us whilst visiting the Metro Radio Arena. I have to agree with you, we are in a great location if you are travelling to Newcastle by rail. Being directly opposite Newcastle Central Station is a great advantage.

Thank you for your kind comments about the warm welcome you received from the team. Here at The County we pride ourselves on ensuring all of our guests receive exceptional service and it is great to note that you experienced this first hand.

I was pleased to read that you were able to join us for breakfast in the morning. We have recently implemented a new breakfast specification and have since received some excellent feedback about our extensive buffet offering. With everything from the traditional Full English hot options to fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and pancakes; I am confident there is something to suit every taste.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I thought the hotel was central, brilliant location and staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was also fine. The major downside for us was how thin the walls were and how noisy it was at night. We knew Newcastle is famous for stag and hen parties but didn't realise just how close this hotel was to the main drag! If we had known how close everything was and how noisy at the same time, we would probably have either booked another hotel or asked for a quieter area of the hotel. On the first night my friend didn't get to sleep until 4am due to rowdy revellers on the street below and several ambulances zooming past. I should have taken a leaf out of her book and purchased earplugs for the second night. I had an ok nights sleep until 3am and 6am when we were disrupted by guys in the room/s next to us who we're banging on doors trying to get into their rooms with their keys!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the noise on the Main Street. If you are a light sleeper, boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klw22446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found our hotel to be conveniently located and the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The team here at The County work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their time with us and would wish to return on their next visit to Newcastle. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable experience when you joined us for breakfast.

I was disappointed to learn that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. Being located in the heart of a vibrant city, we recognise that street noise can prove to be a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it. Therefore, all of our outward facing rooms are fitted with secondary double glazing in an attempt to eliminate as much street noise as possible and are also equipped with complimentary ear plugs. Please be assured that should you be a light sleeper, we also have a variety of rooms at the rear of the building overlooking our courtyard car park which may be available on request. Our Duty Manager is available 24 hours a day to assist with any such requests with a view to making your stay as comfortable as possible. Please accept my apologies for any disturbance caused by other guests returning from an evening out in Newcastle. Our night management team work hard to ensure noise levels on the room corridors are kept to a minimum by carrying out several security patrols per night. Again, there is a manager on duty 24 hours a day who can be contacted by calling Reception from the phone in the room and who I am confident would have responded immediately to any reports of disturbance between security patrols.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here on 4th April 2014 in order to see Adam Ant at the O2 Academy. Excellent hotel, really well presented, lovely big rooms, lovely breakfast (at an extra charge, which i would pay again), complimentary gym passes which we used, was a lovely touch, parking on site (at an extra charge,bit costly but that is how things go these days). Ideally positioned for the O2 academy, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read such a positive review of our hotel. I was happy to note that you were able to join us for breakfast and that you found it to be great. If you have made your reservation on a room only basis, breakfast vouchers are available to buy at Reception on check in for the special price of just £10.00. I am sure you will agree, our breakfast is excellent value for money and provides an extensive variety of high quality options. From Gloucester Old Spot sausages to fresh homemade pancakes, I am confident there is something to suit all tastes!

Thank you for your kind comments relating to the size of your room and the complimentary gym passes offered to all of our guests. Having an affiliation with an excellent city centre gym within walking distance of our hotel has proven to be very popular with our guests.

I was pleased to note that you found our hotel to be in a convenient location for your visit to Newcastle as you were only a short walk from the O2 Academy. Being within walking distance of many of Newcastle’s main attractions such as Metro Radio Arena, St James’ Park and Newcastle City Hall is a great advantage for our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us went along to the hotel, which on first impressions looks good on the inside. As this was a two course meal, we asked if we could have the main and dessert, to be told that we would have to pay extra for the dessert, the two courses being starter and main. Three of us had the mushroom soup which was lovely. I had a potato and cheddar cake, with a poached egg. When it arrived there was certainly a superbly poached egg, but also a deep fried ball of only slightly cheesy tasting potato.

The main course selections were made, three having the roast beef with myself choosing the cod in a lemon and dill sauce. A long time later these arrived. My cod was a very small portion inside which was a slice of lemon, and although the sauce around it was good the fish itself had no taste. It seemed as if it had been poached a long time ago, and was dry on top. The beef was tough to ok. We had to ask for more vegetables as the dish that was brought wouldn't have fed two, never mind four. The gravy was very good and the plates hot though.

On the tea arriving, we were poured a half cup each then the pot taken away. More was provided on asking but this was weak and hardly hot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was very disappointed to learn that you were not entirely satisfied when you joined us in our restaurant. The experience you have described does not reflect our usual high standard of service. We frequently hear remarkable comments about the standard of service we provide and fantastic quality and value for money received by guests in our restaurant. Our chefs work hard to deliver a menu which is executed using high quality ingredients. Please be assured that we have a Duty Manager on hand 24 hours a day who I am confident, had they been made aware of your dissatisfaction, would have been more than happy to try and rectify any issues. Please accept my apologies if you found our usual high standards to be lacking on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $61 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing