We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$79
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$74
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$95
$79
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$92
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$94
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
333
415
251
111
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
415
251
111
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirectly opposite the stationtrain stationcar parkstreet noiseexcellent locationcity centrebit datedstayed for one nightbuffet stylehotel barbars and restaurantsthistlenewcastleearplugsnightlifehairdryerarena
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here mainly due to location near station for a gig at The Sage. Hotel clean, room on the smallish side but perfectly adequate, large bathroom; staff were just lovely & are a credit to their management & the brand; extremely good value for money with breakfast included - fresh fruit salad (as opposed to the tinned horror you sometimes get in hotels!) & delicious fruit compote at breakfast were a nice touch & everything I had at breakfast was delicious - lots of choice & although a buffet, small serving dishes meant that nothing hung around under the lights for very long. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Thistle.

I was really pleased to note that you found the hotel to be clean and the team to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for your kind comments relating to our breakfast offering - I am pleased that you took advantage of our breakfast inclusive offer and appreciated why we only prepare small amounts of hot food at a time.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us should you return to Newcastle in the near future.

Kind regards


Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here with friends for 3 days staff were efficient and friendly check in was quick
breakfast was good with many choices and although buffet style was freshly cooked we ate once in the evening this was excellent and good value. The staff in the bar were efficient and friendly. The rooms had everything required and were very clean and well decorated. One of our party had a problem with his room and was moved quickly to an upgraded room. All in all the hotel added to our enjoyment of our stay and we would certainly stay here again. We visited Newcastle Races which we highly recommend. We did not participate in the open top bus tour as the last one was at 14.30 which we found a bit early especially for a hop on hop off. Otherwise Newcastle is a great city

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilcrossEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Newcastle.

I was very pleased to note that you found all of the team to be pleasant, efficient and professional and that you approved of the standard of the bedroom and the way in which the team handled a specific situation. We all know that mistakes can happen, but it is good to know that when the team are made aware of a situation or a problem, they usually have the autonomy to correct it.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the near future.

Kind regards

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked into Single Room for one night before holiday to Spain.
Basic comfortable room stones throw from Metro to airport.

In my rush to get early train, I accidentally left envelope with 300 Euros on bedroom table!
After an e-mail to hotel, all I could do was wait till holiday ended and return to County to see
what had happened.

The money was found and handed in to reception for collection upon my return.

Very pleased with the staff's honesty and would return again.

P. B.
Edinburgh

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meconicuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide fellow Tripadvisor members with feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Newcastle.

I was very pleased to learn that you found the rooms to be comfortable and made use of our excellent links with the airport by using the adjacent Metro.

I am pleased that upon receiving your e mail, the head housekeeper made sure that your lost property was ready for collection as agreed. Thank you for your confidence in the team - many of whom have been employed by Thistle for a number of years.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope that despite the initial worry of leaving your money, you had an enjoyable trip to Spain.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visting Newcastle for a concert at the Metro Arena. Literally just over the road to the railway station and within walking distance of the Arena (10 min walk). Lovely hotel room with extra large double bed, giant TV and everything was exceptionally clean.Room was located at the back of the hotel and overlooked the air conditioning units but this did not keep us awake as there was excellent double glazing. All the staff were friendly and pleasant and helpful (especially David on the bar - he went the extra mile!). We had lunch in the hotel bar - lovely! and ordered room service later that night - lovely! We would certainly book this hotel again when we come up to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel by Thistle, Newcastle.

I was really pleased to learn of your satisfaction.

Our central location is ideal for all that Newcastle has to offer, especially being in walking distance to the Sage Gateshead, Metro Radio Arena, City Hall and o2 Academy.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the room and the team - David was thrilled to see his name on Tripadvisor! Thank you for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the County should you return to Newcastle in the future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here in the middle of April to watch Newcastle play Benfica.

Its a great location for getting around. I found the staff were really pleasant and friendly.

Particularly Ashley in the lower bar, she worked hard to make everyone feel welcome even though it was coming to the end of her shift

Great location in a lovley city

Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveUK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the Thistle Newcastle.

Our central location is ideal for all of the city highlights, including being within a ten minute walk to St James Park. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of the team - I am really pleased that we made your stay in Newcastle a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews