We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, friendly staff, spotless”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Hotel
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Most impressed by the cleanliness. The hotel was spotless. It had lots of character. Staff only too willing to speak and be friendly. Right across the road from the station but remarkably quiet. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadlyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review to fellow members of the Tripadvisor Community following your recent stay with us at the County.

I am delighted to note that you were impressed with the levels of cleanliness, the original character of the building and the friendliness of the team. I will ensure that your kind comments are distributed amongst my colleagues.

I am pleased that you found the location to be good. Being in the city centre has many advantages such as no onward taxi charges, ease of navigation in a new city and also the additional option of an extra few minutes in bed before having to travel home!

Thank you once again for taking time to provide a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the very near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was our first time having a meal at this hotel. We had bought a Living Social voucher which gave entitled us to a three course Sunday Lunch. We called to book our table as per voucher's instruction. To our surprise, they could only book us about 3 weeks later, claiming to be very busy. Our first impression was wow! it must be quite a place if they can't take 2 people right away. We weren't disappointed when the day came. We were impressed with the waiters wearing white gloves while serving food. There was a piano player at the other end of the room. Unfortunately for us, we didn't hear him play. The sound was too low. When we got there, we thought it was a 2 course meal for two people. We were happily surprised as it was a 3 course meal and the choices were really great. As a starter I had duck and port pate and my wife had goats cheese bruschetta. Both were very tasty and well presented. We both had the beef dinner with all the trimmings. The gravy was definitely homemade and tasty; the beef was tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. The staff were efficient and friendly. All in all, it was great value for money and more. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: As we didn't go there to sleep but just to eat, we cannot rate the rooms, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to our Hotel for Sunday Lunch.

I was delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable experience.

Sunday lunch has proved to be very popular and our chef takes pride in ensuring we offer a traditional menu including homemade crisp Yorkshire puddings ,roast beef with gravy made from the roasting stock, traditional pot pies and so on. This menu is in keeping with the magnificent surroundings of our Mozart Suite, with original wood panelling and large bay windows overlooking Central Station and complimented by gentle background music from the pianist. Due to the popularity of our Sunday lunch, we do recommend that you reserve a table in advance by telephoning the hotel. The team will be more than happy to assist you with your reservation.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed here for one night and couldnt fault it at all rooms staff cleanliness bar the whole experience was spot on we will be returning in the very near future would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: rooms at backof hotel much quieter the ones facing train station very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philhosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide a review following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel by Thistle, Newcastle.

I was delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and found the experience to be 'first class'. We really appreciate your compliments and I will certainly ensure that the team are aware of your feedback.

Thank you for choosing the County and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed here for one night in december, found it easily enough and there is parking out the back (additional charges apply for this) but it is only a small carpark. We had a small double and it was small but adequate if you only view it as somewhere to sleep. The entrance is beautiful but the rooms decor was not as nice, quite old fashioned. The boiler broke when we were there and we were left with no hot water at all :-( they arranged for us to use another hotels facilities and were very apologetic. We were given 50% off our room rate for this!
overall an ok hotel, outside and entrance gives impressions fo grandeur but room decor was disappointing. Wouldnt recommend for romantic getaway but good location and nice staff

Room Tip: get there as soon as book in allows if you want a carparking space as there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide the Tripadvisor community with a review following your stay with us in December 2012.

I was really pleased to learn that despite an issue with the hot water supply, you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the team to be very friendly.

Please be assured that the lack of hot water in December was a system malfunction which was totally out of the control of the hotel team and it was rectified the following day. This was the first and last time we have had a situation regarding the lack of hot water in the hotel. I am pleased that you approved of the professional way in which the team handled the very difficult situation as well as the solutions offered to ensure our guests were looked after.

Our bedrooms do vary from the compact and cosy Small Double rooms to the large and lofty Executive Rooms and are priced accordingly. Our Small Doubles are ideal for a base for exploring the city where as our Executive Rooms are recently refurbished in a contemporary design and offer lots of additional amenities such as bath robes, slippers, mineral water and a welcome truffle as standard. Ideal if you are looking for a romantic or relaxing break.

As you mentioned, we do have a small car park to the rear of the Hotel which offers 19 car parking spaces. The car parking is chargeable and there are plenty of alternative car parks close by should our facility be full. The reception team are more than happy to provide alternative parking directions and information.

Once again, thank you for your review and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

four of us visited here for sunday lunch at the thistle hotel, we had special groupon vouchers where the three course meal should of been 15. 95, and we paid half price. We arrived a little bit soon as we needed to ensure we got a parking space, but this was no problem. We got a seat next to the bar for drinks, till our table was ready. The groupon voucher also included 25 per cent off the drinks. We ordered a bottle of dry white wine, which we noted was about 3 to 4 pound dearer than your normal smaller pubs, where we normally go, but this was a hotel anyway, so you expect this, husbands ordered shandy and beer, which was satisfactory. The restaurant looked very nice with lovely white tablecloths, and well set out tables, there was plenty of people aswell, so the atmosphere was good, we hate going to places when there is no one there. For starters I chose prawn cocktail which was a very small portion ,about six little prawns resting on a little bit of lettuce, not worth eating really, I was pleased it came with a crusty roll, if I had paid full price I would of complained. My sister had soup which was hot and tasty, brother in law had pate and husband had corned beef and potato cake, sorry can not remember the name of it, but they both enjoyed. Next course we all had the beef and Yorkshire pud , which came with roast potato, parsnip, carrots, cauliflower, mangetout, small portions but very nice. There was other choices, chicken and a haddock dish that we noted. For sweet, we ordered cheesecake, apple pie and custard and an easter sundae, with berries and cream, no complaints. We all finished with a chocolate sweet, very nice. The service we received from the staff was excellent, they went out of their way to help us. We would definitely go back, if the offer was on, but we would not pay full price, as we think it is too dear

Room Tip: sorry, did not stop here, went for the meal only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to take Easter Sunday Lunch at the County and for providing feedback following your visit.

I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable experience and that you liked the grandeur and tradition of the oak panelled Mozart Room which overlooks Central Station. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the excellent service you received - I will ensure that the team are aware of this.

We have only recently re launched our traditional Sunday Lunch offering and have found it to be extremely popular - we have also had very positive feedback, some of which have been posted earlier on Tripadvisor.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the very near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Nothing amazing about the hotel itself, the room was a little small, a peculiar shape and pretty tired inside. The lobby and eating area are very nice, the breakfast was good and staff very friendly. The best thing about it is the location, literally a stone's throw from Newcastle station. Very convenient, although would look for something more modern if staying more than one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joek666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide the Tripadvisor community with a review following your recent stay with us at the County.

As our hotel dates back to the late 1800's, our rooms do very is size and shape. When the hotel was originally built, the rooms did not have the facilities which are the norm today, such as central heating, en suite bathrooms, and so on. As these have been added over the years, it has had an effect on the shape of the bedrooms. Unlike the new builds of today, none of our bedrooms are exactly the same shape or size which adds to the character and charm of the grade 2 listed building - most of our guests like this as they are unique, however I appreciate that it may not be to some guests personal taste.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the lobby, restaurant and the friendliness of the team. I was really pleased to note that you had an enjoyable breakfast too.

I must agree with you regarding the central location of the County. Being directly opposite Central Station has many benefits - especially if you are new to the city, a solo traveller who is looking to avoid onward taxi costs or simply would like a few extra minutes in bed before the journey home!

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here mid-week prior to a conference. It's a great location if you're travelling by train as you literally walk over the road from the station and you're there. The room was on an advanced purchased rate of just under £60, which was fairly reasonable.

The hotel is pleasantly decorated, and the rooms are small but plenty for the purpose of a bed to sleep in. Some of the interior room decor is perhaps a little tired, particularly the fixtures in the bathrooms, but everything worked and nothing was dirty so for the price there were no complaints.

I didn't bother paying an extra £10 for breakfast - the hotel is flanked by a Starbucks and a Subway which can provide a cheaper alternative for breakfast.

I stayed here midweek and was on the 4th floor at the front. There is a little noise from the road outside (buses etc) and I was woken once by some chaps on a night out in the street below. I'd be cautious about how noisy it might get over a weekend if you're on a lower floor, but that is only speculation and again depends on what you want the hotel for.

In all, did the job without any unpleasant surprises.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide a detailed review following your stay with us at the County Hotel.

I must agree with you regarding the central location of the County. Being directly opposite Central Station has many benefits - especially if you are new to the city, a solo traveller who is looking to avoid onward taxi costs or simply would like a few extra minutes in bed before the journey home!

I was pleased to note that you found the hotel to be pleasantly decorated and clean and that you were overall happy with your stay.

I am sorry that you chose to take breakfast elsewhere - if you are peckish our breakfast buffet is very good value with discounted vouchers being available from reception the night prior. As well as the traditional items including crispy bacon, eggs cooked to your liking, yoghurt with granola, pastries, fresh & dried fruits & cereal selection which are served buffet style there is also a constant supply of tea, coffee, toast and juice available as well as freshly cooked omelettes. I am confident that when compared to high street coffee shops where items are individually charged, our breakfast offering is exceptional value.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you would choose to stay at the County should you return to Newcastle in the future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $62 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing