We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Christmas party!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Newcastle County Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Newcastle County Hotel
Sunderland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Christmas party!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel but I had my Christmas party here on a Saturday night. The hotel is in a great location, right in the city centre opposite the train station. Hotel reception looks the part and we were met with a smile by a pleasant lady on the door who directed us to our "suite" where I was slightly disappointed to find that the tables were split so our party was split between three different tables. Service was swift and went smoothly. Butternut squash soup was delicious but small portion. Turkey dinner yet again was lovely but small portion again. Treacle pudding was not to my liking but others enjoyed. Drinks were expensive, dance floor was TINY! Overall, I had a fantastic night with good food and good company but there was some disappointments for the price paid, I expected more which was a shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your Christmas Party at the County Hotel in Newcastle.

I was really pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable time, however sorry to learn that your personal expectations weren't entirely met.

Like many hotels Christmas is a busy occasion for us at the County. We always try where possible to keep a party on one table, however there are occasions when this is not possible either due to the party numbers or space available. Should we have to split a party for a Christmas event, we always try to ensure that they are next to each other and not in different parts of the room, which I believe was the case on Saturday.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of the food produced and I am sorry that you personally felt that the portions were small. We have already served several hundred Christmas diners and this is the first comment we have received of this nature.

Our drinks prices are comparative for a hotel of our standard - I am sorry if you found them to be higher than expected.

Thank you once again for your comments and I am sincerely pleased to note that despite your personal expectations not being met you had a "fantastic night". We look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    290
    184
    80
    49
See reviews for
67
240
83
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed on Wed night, booked through internet and requested a warm,quiet room. Sadly, this was not what we were given. The room was tiny and the heating was off so it was like walking into a fridge. The heater radiator was not adequate size for the room and the bathroom was like the Antarctic. We were given an extra electric heater by staff and also extra duvet. Small bed (most other hotels have a larger than standard size double) not much room left to move about even with the small bed. We were told there was no view to the room which was not important as we were there to sleep, the room however looked on to a wall abot a metre away! Very dark. Noise from other residents walking up and down very creaky steps nearby kept us awake all night.
No breakfast, not a cheap stay,would we go back? Not likely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the room which you were allocated.

I am aware that you had requested a quiet room and with that in mind one of the quietest rooms in the hotel was allocated to you. This room faced an internal light well and this was highlighted to you on arrival. I am confident that if you had advised the team of your dissatisfaction they would have been more than happy to offer you an alternative room.

As our hotel dates back to the late 1800's, our bedrooms vary in size from the large and lofty to the compact and cosy. Our bedrooms are not as uniformed as the new builds of today and have been graded accordingly with the bed size that suits the room - some of our standard double rooms have king size beds, where others have standard size, depending on the space available.

I have carried out a spot check on the room and I can confirm that the heating is in good working order and I am pleased that when asked the team provided you with additional heating and duvets.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and I do hope that you would choose to stay with us again should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in the County on a room only deal. The hotel is everything you would expect from a city centre hotel. The location is excellent, as several reviews have already mentioned it is opposite Newcastle Central. This makes it great for the bar areas and the Mill Volvo Tyne theatre we were visiting.

Being so conveniently located for the bars and quite a cheap place to stay means there was considerable noise from the corridors at night. We didn't head out to the bar area after the show we were seeing. Instead we decided just to go for a quiet drink in the hotel bar. I cannot recommend this experience, the tables looked like they hadn't been cleared or cleaned since the start of the evening. Not a problem in most circumstances, but when you are charged £5.45 for a Malibu and Coke, you probably shouldn't be moving other peoples empties.

Staying as room only, meant that we had to source breakfast ourselves the following morning. We were offered it for £10 each in the hotel. This seems about normal for a hotel, however there is a certain very popular chain of pubs based right behind the hotel, offering a large breakfast for less than half that.

Overall if you are just looking for somewhere cheap to put your head for the night, then this hotel is OK. I don't think I would recommend it if you are planning a long weekend. Don't bother with the hotel breakfast or bar as you will get much better value right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel, Newcastle.

I was really pleased to note that you generally found the hotel to be as expected and you found that the location suited your needs.

I was very sorry to learn of your experience in the bar. This is not the standard we aim for and it is certainly not the norm. Please be assured that I will be personally monitoring the bar service going forward to ensure that our usual high levels of service are evident.

Our breakfast offering is very good with a buffet choice of hot and cold items - a great start to the day or as a nice weekend treat. The standard price is £14.95 per person, however vouchers are available via reception on check in for £10 per person. I am confident that you would have enjoyed the offering available.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We managed to secure a deal for this visit. Great the rate and a special welcome gift. As the welcome had been forgotten I decided to ask about it. To the credit of the hotel they apologised immediately for the error and instantly rectified with a room upgrade and nice bottle of wine. Mistakes happen but its how they are handled that I judge on and I can clearly see that the customer is king still stands here. Nice room, can't fault the cleanliness, and made up to perfection every day before we slobs meseed it up again. Our only issue was with the street noise and the fact that the crossing beeper seemed to activated every 2 seconds. Not a lot that can be done on this one, either triple glaze or get the ear plugs out. Given the location, price paid against comparable hotels and cleanliness, we would stay again.

Room Tip: FRont rooms are noisier, its quiter to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was really pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean and the team to be efficient - I am pleased that the team were able to resolve the initial issue faced on check in without too much hassle. Thank you for your understanding and allowing us the opportunity to rectify this for you.

Being in the heart of the city has lots of advantages, however external noise can be a bit of a nuisance. We are currently in the process of appointing a contractor to refurbish our windows and secondary glazing. As we are grade 2 listed and the hotel contains the original sash windows, this is proving a little more of a challenge than originally expected. I am confident that this work will assist in reducing external noise.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Newcastle

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent location opposite Newcastle Central Railway Station and minutes wakj from Centre for Life and main shopping areas. Excellent breakfast, clean and well eqipped bedrooms and ensuite. tolietries, tea, coffee etc. Does not have the feel of a chain hotel, with individual style, quirky corridors etc. Very helpful, courteous and attentive staff at reception and breakfast. The room was not big, but suitable enough for myself - booked as a single - and on the 5th floor did feel a bit like an attic, but I like attics!! The lifts small and a bit on the slow side. I would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: facing the station can be noisy on a Saturday night - this is Newcastle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for providing fellow Tripadvisor members with a review of the County Hotel by Thistle.

I was really pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments relating to the quality of the breakfast, bedroom and facilities available.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I accidentally booked a 'small double' for myself and my husband when we stayed over after a concert last Friday night. I meant to book a regular double, and was a bit disappointed by the size of the room. It was seriously small. The bathroom was huge, strangely enough though! The bed was against the wall and the desk at the end was pushed right against the end which made it really difficult for me to get out of bed to go to the loo as I was so squished in! My husband said he nearly fell out of bed several times. I think the room would be fine for one person, but I would not book the size again for 2. Didn't think the cleanliness was amazing, just don't look into the corners too much. The wardrobe door fell off onto my husband in the morning.
Car parking was a disappointment, we were told car parking was available for £10 for 24 hours, nowhere were we informed it was first come, first serve and the car park was the size of a shoebox. We were a bit annoyed to be told we would have to back out onto the street, navigate the one way systems to park in the train station for £15. I'm sure the receptionists get a lot of flack for this and i know it's not their fault but with no discount offered on the room and a curt 'the car park's full, you can't book a space' attitude after a nightmare drive into Newcastle city centre, this wasn't the nicest welcome we'd ever had. Overall, an acceptable place to rest our heads after a concert but if we decide to stay over in the city again we will probably look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeloo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide the Tripadvisor community with a review following your recent stay with us at the County.

Our Small Double room types are the smallest rooms in the hotel and as such are priced accordingly lower than a standard double. The Small Doubles are ideal for sole occupancy or for two people if you are just looking for a base whilst you are enjoying all that Newcastle has to offer. As bathrooms were not included in the original design of the hotel, they were added at a later date using space available, therefore there is not as much uniformity in our hotel compared to the new builds of today.

As we are in the heart of the city, parking at the hotel is limited to 19 spaces. This is on a first come basis and charged at £10 per 24 hours. This information is detailed on our web site. The team on the front desk are familiar with alternative parking options and they have sought options to suit all budgets.

I was really pleased to note that you found the location to be very good for your visit to the Metro Radio Arena.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I chose this hotel as i had previoulsy stayed in a Thistle and found it to be good quality. Unfortunately my stay at The County will be my last. Our room was tired with a bathroom in need of a good clean and refurbishment. the room was a like a sauna for the entire stay with no option to open a window as they were bolted shut, and no thermostat to regulate the temperture. Yes there was a fan in the room but as explained to the receptionist in the morning a fan only circulates the existing hot air-it doesnt provide fresh air or cool the room. had I realised before booking that there would be a charge for wifi i would have chosen elsewhere. Ill be looking elsewhere next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle County Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us at The County Hotel by Thistle.

I was really sorry to learn of your disappointment. We are currently in the process of selecting a contractor to refurbish our bedroom windows and secondary double glazing, however as we are a grade 2 listed building with original sash windows, it is proving more of a challenge than originally expected.

I can confirm that there is a thermostat on the individual radiator which controls the heat in the room. I am sure that if one of the team had been made aware of the problems you faced with the radiator, they would have been more than happy to assist.

Thistle have recently launched its very own loyalty programme entitled Signature. This gives our regular guests great rewards for staying with Thistle, including immediate internet access once signed up to the programme at the reception desk. Should you wish to find out more about the programme, please visit the Thistle web site.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle County Hotel

Property: Mercure Newcastle County Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the Mercure Newcastle County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Newcastle County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing