We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless your a teenage boy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid unless your a teenage boy.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ill start off with the good point.
1) location is excellent right in the centre over the road from the diamond strip
2) that's the end of my good points.

We booked to stay here for Saturday night as we were going out in Newcastle that night. Check in was great, friendly staff all looked well until we got to our room.

Rooms are tiny and you cannot swing a cat in there! You have a bed a small desk and one stool which had greasy hand prints on it. The bathroom was a tiny cubicle about a step away from your bed. Sliding see through door which doesn't lock! Tiny sink and a shower right next to the loo basically a tiny wet room.
For £90 a night this was ridiculous, no space to un pack or put anything, no space to get ready and it felt very closterphobic and you did not feel at home!

We did not stay in this hotel we rang up a nearby hotel Jury's Inn which was a million times better! And left straight away. This hotel was not going to spoil our weekend!

If your a group of lads and your not really going to be in your room much this is perfect if your a group of girls you have no space to get ready for your night out and there are much better hotels to stay in than this one.

Highly disappointed with this hotel would not reccomend as I said Jury's Inn is so much nicer and more spacious with a real bathroom and space to un pack and get ready this hotel was a joke

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_b_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. The vast majority of guests comment extremely positively about the quality of the rooms and the standard of fittings; the clever design, more than makes up for its compact size. As you can see from the majority of reviews we are rated very highly on all aspects of our rooms and service and have been awarded a TripAdvisor 'Certificate of Excellence' with a rating of 4.5 earning us a place amongst the best hotels in Newcastle. We have only received this award by offering exceptional service and a great product that most of our guests enjoy, resulting in excellent ratings. I understand that you preferred to move hotels to stay with your friends without really giving us a chance to show you another larger room and how good a hotel we are. That is a pity as you would have had a great night's sleep, a fabulous breakfast and enjoyed our modern, stylish lounge before your departure on Sunday morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    395
    135
    36
    27
See reviews for
93
365
71
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here one night for a visit to the two universities in the city. We had a family room - a double and bunk beds for three of us. It was pretty spacious. Clothes storage is limited - no drawers at all and just some hangers on a small rack but sufficient for one night. The bathroom has a frosted glass door which offers some privacy but not much. I suggest the hotel has the outside of the doors mirrored, glass is probably necessary because of the position of the shower and lack of a shower curtain. Bathroom and bedroom all very clean (some wear & tear on the bedside table but still, clean). Sufficient shelf space in the bathroom (rare) and fair trade tea & coffee supplied. But no bisucits.
The beds are very comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the railway. The window is double glazed but I suppose that lower floors might have a problem with noise from the railway - other reviews have mentioned noise from revellers. Maybe triple glazed would help? Having supplies of earplugs at reception? Personally I never go away without my earplugs - I learnt that camping at Glastonbury! Anyway we heard no noise from revellers but it was a Tuesday night.
The staff were friendly and helpful - no problems there. We didn't book breakfast in advance (it's cheaper if you do) but booked it on arrival for convenience sake. Then we noticed a nearby pub which does good, cheap breakfasts with far more veggie choice than the hotel (hint for Sleeperz - mushrooms, hash browns) but there was plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and even soya milk which was great.
It's a very good location if you want to be near the train station. They will store your luggage for you if your train is in the evening. Great for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Top floor might be better for a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really enjoyed this stay in Newcastle. Sleepers is a value hotel in the centre of town, two minutes from the castle keep, and the central station. The hotel is smart, modern and clean. The rooms are small, but the use of space is clever, and the effect is pleasant. Great welcome, as you would expect in the Northeast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are coming on the train this place is perfect
Very clean and simple modern
Food downstairs and a bar and main restaraunts and bars are walking distance as is arenas and O2 academy for gigs really nice and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

six of us came up from London to stay at Sleeperz Hotel for New Years.

My friend booked the trip, when he told me the name of the hotel and the price we was paying, I must admit i was a little uneasy at the prospect of staying in a crap Hotel.

When we first arrived the customer services was brilliant, smiley faces, offering usmaps of the local area which was needed.

the rooms were spotlessly clean, very modern also with large windows for natural light.

The beds were very comoftable (If you dont like firm matresses then not for you, but I do).

We didnt eat at the hotel as eating is cheating.

Overall, you get what you pay for. we are coming again in march!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the large window facing the street for natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although our room was nice I was not impressed by how expensive the food/drinks from the hotel were. I paid for breakfast and I think I would have got a better deal elsewhere, there wasn't much choice and the food was all cold.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms if you can, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxh0undd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice, modern and clean hotel. Got upgraded to a family room with a bunker bed :) Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel restaurant serves amazing food with large portions.
I had second thoughts when I was booking for this hotel, because from the reviews, it seems like its a popular hotel for stag and hen parties, and I was traveling with my family worried about getting harassed and not being able to have a good night sleep. But Im assuming that we were quite lucky as it was perfectly quiet at night and we all had a good nights sleep. Comfy beds and clean sheets. The wifi was working fine, but only two devices per room. Perfect location It's very close to Tesco Metro, Grainger Market and Eldon Square. Very pleased, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing