We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit on a Thursday or Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mrs Ali's - CLOSED

Mrs Ali's
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visit on a Thursday or Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Having been to Mrs Ali's a few times now (albeit only on a Thursday or Sunday), but I can safely say it is good food, and ridiculously good value for money on Thursday and Sunday evenings - £11.95 for poppadoms, a glass of wine, a starter, main course, rice and a side/nan.

The decor/atmosphere could possibly do with a sprucing up, as it is often quite quiet when we visit and I personally prefer a busy restaurant atmosphere. However, this does mean the service is quite good, although on one occasion one of the waiters seemed a little disinterested when we were ordering/as if we were keeping him waiting. Otherwise, all the other staff are lovely and seem pleased to have you.

Would recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    5
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“will not use again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

delivery took 1.5 hours, even though i live about 200m away. food was cold and far too spicy for a korma. NOT GOOD

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanlb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a huge disappointment ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Decided to book a table for valentines
Got there and although it was not busy we were sat down with our menus thrown down on the table
Someone came in after us who was obviously a regular and they were seated down completely differently we asked for drinks and weren't even acknowledged. The other guest was served drinks and had there order taken whilst we sat there being ignored
We waited 15 minutes further then left and went to vujon
They weren't busy so had no excuse just bad service !!

Helpful?
Thank 0Melanie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Went on a thursday and took part in the 6 course special - excellent quality and what is good about the choice is that you can have any main dish you are not given an shortened list to chose from - food was hot and fresh and staff were extremely pleasant - well done we will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria,england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“We will definate be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were staying in Newcastle on Wednesday and we were going to go to mrs Ali's for a meal but time caught up with us and we decided on a takeaway from there instead. ......, it was fab!! It was delivered to our appartment within the 30 mins that the lady said and it was fresh and hot..... Really enjoyed it and next time we are over Newcastle we will make more time to go and sit in the restaurant ....... We would definately recommend mrs Ali's !!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank addicted34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Ali's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing