We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jesmond Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Park Hotel

Jesmond Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jesmond Park Hotel
Salisbury
2 reviews
“Jesmond Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while my daughter was in the Freeman Hospital nearby , I found the rooms comfortable and clean and the service excellent . Vaughn and his super friendly team epitomise everything that is great about Newcastle , nothing is too much trouble , Frank is a fine host and Hazel is the supremely efficient breakfast waitress . The breakfasts are what you want them to be - serve yourself coffee , toast and cereal and a full English on top.
Now undergoing refurbishment to include internet access and a new guests Bar and Lounge I look forward to my next visit .
This hotel is quietly located but just 5 minutes away from the buzzing centre of Jesmond , I would recomend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara56Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    29
    19
    24
See reviews for
39
25
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is more like a bad B&B than an actual hotel. The sofas in the lounge are really worn-down, I personally wouldn't want to sit on them. The room needs renovating in places (wallpaper coming down, walls and ceiling look desolate), the shower in the en-suite had either hot or cold water on offer. It didn't look dirty but I still wouldn't want to put my clothes in any of the drawers or wardrobe. The toilet flushing didn't work properly either. There was almost constant noise from other people showering, one could always here the water running. There also seem to be a lot of builders staying there.
Also, we had to pay at arrival and weren't told about that when we booked over the phone.
The breakfast was english and plenty and you could help yourself to toast and cereals. The lady serving breakfast was very keen to get it right for you.
Location is very close to bars in Jesmond, you can walk there within 5 minutes. Need the metro or cab to Newcastle city centre.
Parking comprises only 2 parking spots on the side of the hotel (road adjacent).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

morecambe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

a sorry old looking place / amazing what you can do with photoshop - grubby and expensive - avoid like the plague...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the boarders northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

We are an active married couple and recently stayed at The Jesmond Park Hotel which proved an ideal location for Newcastle Upon Tyne and restaurants and clubs of Jesmond. Although offering B & B basis only (plus good value bar open in the evening) we were impressed by the friendliness and quality and service received from proprietors and staff.

  • Liked — Its cleanliness and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — decoration could be a little brighter
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boarder-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed at Jesmond Park whilst going to a friend's wedding. To be honest, we had a great weekend despite the B&B but it is cheap for a reason so if you're looking at staying in your room for a long time, I wouldn't recommend it.

The bed was a tad smelly, the shower was jammed in with a hole in the tray. Limescale all over the nozzle and the flooring in the bathroom was sinking because it was rotten. Decor dated.

Plus points - bar prices were good (£2 a drink) and the breakfast was nice as well, as was service at breakfast. Jesmond itself has lots of B&Bs so there are lots of other options.

  • Liked — The price - around £30 per night, so you can't expect much. Not a bad location.
  • Disliked — It wasn't clean!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

We was desperate, but after staying the night, not that desperate, we should have slept in the car! Asked to pay before we had seen the room, should have known. Luxury double bedrooms? maybe if you normally sleep in a car. Wasn't even a double bed, more like a large single, there were clothes in the wardrobe and no lock on the ensuite (shower room) door. Breakfast was rubbish, still hungry afterwards. Obviously caters for stag/hen nights and possibly ex-cons. Could be nice, if they made an effort.

  • Liked — nada
  • Disliked — toss up between the small bed, bad food, other hotel guest
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1W1SC0T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

This was a clean, well maintained hotel, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

Unfortunately, we had two almost completely sleepless nights when we stayed at the weekend. The hotel is very close to bars favoured by students and on the Friday night there was noise from the street right the way through until nearly 7.00am. On the Staurday night we were disturbed at 2.00am and again at 3.00 by noise within the hotel. On the second occasion there was a full-scale family row on the stairs and nobody from the hotel intervened.

The hotel is probably fine on weekdays but I would not recommend staying at the weekend unless you are the kind of person who likes to go clubbing all night and then snatch a few hours' sleep in the daytime.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#64 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#51 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#54 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Park Hotel

Property: Jesmond Park Hotel
Address: 74-76 Queens Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Jesmond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jesmond Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing