We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sconetastic!”

Sweet Memories at Study Cafe
Ranked #258 of 1,281 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sweet Memories at Study Cafe We are an independent café serving British dishes including a various vegetarian/vegan options. Location: Newcastle city centre, 89 Clayton Street!
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sconetastic!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great coffee and what a fantastic homemade scone, its a pity we couldn't stay a bit longer, will be back though...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellow93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    49
    15
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“vegan delight”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

its a lovely and cute little cafe and its licensed too-sadly in the middl of bargain booze nd pound shops-possibly why its for sale. but we got off the red bus sightseeing tour right opposite and my daughter adored her vegan lunch-and i had a lovely homemade cherry scone with jam and cream and my hubby had a beer. -lovely-would go again if we lived nearer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a find for vegetarians”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch...pleasant bo ho surrounding even with a great painting of Han Solo on the walls....near to David Bowie! Great vegan lunch and followed by scrummy banana sweet. Great meal and swift friendly service at a good price.

Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great little cafe. I popped in for lunch with a friend a few days ago and was not disappointed. The menu choices are great regardless if you're veggie, vegan or a meat eater. I had feta and spinach crepes with a mint yogurt dressing on the side and my friend chose sausage and mash. The food was lovely, it tasted beautiful and was both healthy and filling. It did seem to take quite a while to arrive but it was all made fresh so I guess I can't fault them for that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlier r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good and caters for everyone”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of Newcastle's gems. The Scrumpy Willow and the Singing Kettle is a rare gem, inasmuch as you could sit a vegetarian, vegan, meat-eater and coeliac sufferer around the same table, and they could all find something on the menu they wanted to eat. I'm especially fond of the cooked-to-order omelettes, but the cakes are great too. Lots of small arts and crafts items for sale, and Fentiman's drinks on the menu! The only thing that needs improving is the toilet; it's not dire, but could do with a bit of redecorating. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Memories at Study Cafe also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sweet Memories at Study Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing