We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and cold food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ninos at The Gate

Ninos at The Gate
Ranked #506 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service and cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited on a lunchtime during Happy Hour. They took our drinks and food order and drinks arrived straight away to be left waiting and waiting and waiting for our food and when it did eventually arrive it was cold.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    59
    26
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not impressed at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went on a lunchtime and we were served drinks then our order taken and then left waiting and waiting and waiting for our food. Once the food arrived it was only just warm. I won't be going back and wouldn't recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service but food was disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a table booked for 5.45pm for an early tea but ending up being late arriving,it wasn't a problem which was great,the waiting staff were really accommodating and polite.we ordered a bottle of wine and proceeded to use our voucher for a 2 course special...
The 1st course was ok - my chicken wings were small and a snack at best,2 miniature sized wings which were burnt on the outside. My partner had the potaoe skins which you can't really go wrong with.
The main course was the most disappointing...we decided to go for a 50/50 pasta/pizza deal. The pizza was burnt on top so no flavour was given and the pasta was spicy but tasteless.
After the meal I complained to the waitress and I clearly wasn't the only customer that did,almost half the customers had something negative to say(with one couple walking out without paying)!
Overall, a rather funny visit to a rather over estimated restaurant that probably lives on its expectation of the location rather than its quality of food! Unlikely to revisit anytime soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely modern italians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food and excellent desserts! Love the meatball pizza and lasagne and my son Elliott loves the kids spag bol

Helpful?
Thank anthony3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, Even Better Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited Nino's for the first time today with my friend who recommended it highly.
We went during happy hour meaning that we got a main meal for 5.95! The pizza I ordered was obviously cooked freshly and it was larger than you would get in most restaurants. Very much enjoyed my meal here and will definitely be returning when I next get the chance.

The service we received was good, we got checked back on a few minutes after receiving our meals, and offered suaces/parmesan/black pepper. I couldn't fault it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninos at The Gate also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ninos at The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing