We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different in Newcastle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tea Sutra Teahouse

Tea Sutra Teahouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Something different in Newcastle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Heard someone chatting about this place so thought I'd pop in on a Saturday evening with my wife. The décor is best described as 'hippy chic' with a mixture of traditional tables, comfy chairs and a sitting area. The young lad behind the counter was very helpful and pointed out the menu choice, a small range of wraps and vegetarian dishes. Obviously the main attraction is the selection of teas. We ended up having a dahl and rice dish which was great and very inexpensive. We also tried a couple of their poppy seed cakes which were also good. Tried an iced tea and something warmer with our cakes. Again the lad who was serving was more than happy to chat through and recommend the best teas. The total bill was £25...a bargain. A welcome addition to the city. Give it a go, even if you only try a tea. They are open until 8pm I think

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank businessvisitorNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for tea lovers and vegetarian / vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's a perfect spot for just relaxing with a perfect pot of tea or healthy lunch or snacking.
The waiting stuff never rush and always welcoming.
I haven't tried their cakes yet but I enjoyed their falafel wrap, their soup and their chili with brown rice from the daily menu. All reasonably priced and make you feel good and healthy. I'd go there everyday if I could. Can't recommend enough!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sakupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've been a few times now and every time has been great! There is a vast range of teas to choose from. My fave so far is the Chai tea for two which you get in a cute elephant teapot - spicy and sweet. Have also tried a couple of the other teas one of which was a blue liquid and when you add lemon to bring out the flavour it turned purple. The individual teas come in quite small pots but the staff are more than happy to provide more hot water to add to your pot. I love the decor and atmosphere - really chilled. The food is amazing - full of flavour and you get a good portion for what you pay. The cakes are lovely too, great texture and taste. Have tried the carrot and cardamon today. I would recommend this place to those who haven't tried vegan/vegetarian food before because you don't feel as though you're missing the meat. Definitely one of my favourite places in town!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've visited tea sutra a few times I've the years , and its a fantastic place to go and chill out drinking teas and having a slice of cake , the staff are very friendly and accommodating , the decor matches the ambiance and its always a pleasure to visit tea sutra

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge choice of tea, I'll never visit a chain in Newcastle again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful, unassuming little place, the lovely decor and laid back atmosphere hits you as soon as you walk in. Really chilled and didn't feel rushed even though it took us ages to choose what we wanted - well with a menu of like 100 types of tea, what do you expect?! The menu was really extensive and included teas from all over the world, with helpful descriptions. My mate and I both had lovely teas in gorgeous little pots, hers even came with a little timer to tell you how long to leave it to brew for! My mate had a piece of cake too, and although I don't normally have a sweet tooth, must admit it was delicious and tasted really different and fresh... It isn't the cheapest for a brew, but I would soooo much rather spend my £3 in here than on a cuppa in Starbucks... Will definitely be returning to sample some more of the huge menu... Looked great for vegans and veggies too and would be keen to try more of the food in future...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Sutra Teahouse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tea Sutra Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing