We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff. Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Nice room”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault the check in. Especially given that I was upgraded! Staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern (caught out by very powerful shower!). Breakfast was good value by usual hotel standards. Would happily stay again if in Newcastle.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NJEDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi NJEDB10,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. We would love to see your next review have five stars, please come and see us again soon! Why not check out our website to see what offers are most tempting for you?
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    429
    212
    65
    25
See reviews for
156
506
33
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite for two nights in November 2013.

The suite was clean and comfortable, albeit one of the smallest suites I've ever stayed in at a hotel; probably about the same size overall as an executive room at the Gateshead Hilton.

Very friendly and helpful at check-in, in the compact but nice reception area. Quite like the contactless room key cards which means I don't have to remove the key from the holder.

Tidy room but very small - the television is about 1 metre away from the sofa, high up on the wall. Looks very well decorated, but on closer inspection there's quite a few areas where finishing or repairs have been a bit bodged; i.e. hole in wall where toilet lock used to be.

Kitchen came in very handy and is stocked with cutlery, plates and utensils.

The air con bugged me - very noisy so I just turned it off for the night, leaving the room to get very cold overnight. Hammering from the building site next door woke me up at 7am on a Saturday morning, but looks like the building is approaching completion so shouldn't be a problem for too long.

No instructions or guides to the room contained within the folder in the room so a few switches and stuff in the room that I didn't understand. There is an aircon panel on the wall which didn't seem to do anything as the main unit by the window is controlled separately. The buttons by the door with a picture of a maid were a bit unclear too.

All in all, I'd probably stay here again if I need to be at this end of the city, but will most likely go back to the Hilton as my company is located Quayside.

Room Tip: Suites are small so double rooms must be tiny. Upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Will D,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you would not choose our hotel as your destination when staying in Newcastle. We do have various room types and sizes to suite all of our guests and I believe you will be very pleased with the size that some of our rooms have to offer. Please feel free to e-mail us with any questions regarding future bookings or special requests and we will do our utmost to deliver a better experience to you on your next stay.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager
Res_newcastle@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2nd time (at reduced rate) due to disappointing visit in August.
Must acknowledge much better this time. Service great,bedroom clean and breakfast much better.

However still feel that wouldn't pay full price to stay here. Whilst it is nice to have kitchen area if you are staying some time on business it isn't really necessary for short term stays and i would prefer larger bedroom area and a mirror near a plug socket so that I could dry my hair and see what I am doing in a mirror.


Excellent location for the city centre for shopping trip.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Elaine B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am concerned that you would still not choose our hotel as your place to stay in Newcastle, however I do understand the valid points you have raised and will discuss your feedback with our Management team.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duram
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Good attention to detail. Very very clean. Good location could see St James Park from our window. Lovely decor.Comfy bed. Waterfall shower was a pleasure.Quiet room even though we were on the first floor and near a main road. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinney911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi hinney911,

Thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle! I am very happy to learn that you thought your stay was flawless and we would love to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't believe the hotel could be booked for £79 - asked for high quiet room. That's what we got.Room small but everything there - only problem having view of the Sports Direct Arena. Seriously - great stay - damp patch on ceiling above window was only downside - but that didn't spoil stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi GarryandSusan,

Thank you for your review! I am sorry you did not enjoy the view of the city and our famous St. James’ park football stadium, and that there was in issue with a wet patch in your room. I have met with our maintenance department to discuss this as your feedback is essential in improving the service we provide to our guests.

Thank you again and I do hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. Loved the modern, stylish rooms and I had one of the best night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel (I dont sleep well generally whilst away from home).

Breakfast was very good, staff were super friendly. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Zosokirst,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I am very happy to hear how well you slept and we are all looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stay here on my business trips to Newcastle. Convenient for city centre, road, train and metro connections. Great views of St James' Park. Always very helpful reception. Nice rooms with excellent showers. Always clean. Small but quiet gym on top floor. Quick efficient breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor room overlooking rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Tom R,

Many thanks for spending the time to review your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, your feedback is most appreciative and its great to learn how you enjoy your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing