We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Sandman”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Completely loved staying at this hotel for one night! Very modern and contemporary and this feel is carried through perfectly throughout the hotel.
The staff are excellent, welcoming and helpful, especially Andrew at the front desk who went out of his way to point us in the right direction of the shops and gave an accurate walking time (10 mins).

Rooms are perfect and very clean. Bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very nice. Room also comes with an empty fridge, microwave and a safe as well as tea/coffee making facilities.
Our view overlooked the Newcastle football ground.

The bar attached to the hotel was also very good, providing tasty and inexpensive food throughout the day as well as providing hotel guests a decent breakfast in the morning.

If I return to Newcastle, this hotel would be my hotel of choice. I thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear GeorgieSmith,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle I am absolutely astounded at your kind words it is extremely pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your stay especially your personal mention to Andrew who is also very grateful of your comments, it is very pleasing to hear.

We hope to welcome you back to Sandman Signature Newcastle very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for a night out in Newcastle and a meal in China town and decided to stay at this hotel because of how nice the rooms looked. The rooms are lovely and nicely decorated and there is a bar downstairs which was great to have a drink in after our night out. We went for a meal in China town called land mark which I would highly recommend to anyone who is a fan of Chinese food. The bed in the hotel was nice and comfy and lots of pillows which was a bonus for me :) only thing I would say was bad was the fact that the sandman hotel doesn't have its own parking so we were advised to park in the car park opposite the hotel. We parked in a sandman bay but woke up the next morning to a parking ticket. It may sound silly but we assumed that the hotel would of told us parking was not included even though the room cost £135. Also the cleaner needs to learn to knock as she walked into our room at 11.30 and carried on walking in even though the tele was on and there was stuff on the side showing someone was still in that room. She got quite an eyeful because me and my boyfriend weren't dressed and she just walked back out without an apology. We found it quite funny but thought it was quite rude that she carried on walking in when she knew people were in the room still. Overall it was a great hotel and perfect location right next to China town and the good clubs :) I would definitely recommend this to people staying in Newcastle :D xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlingtonbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Darlingtonbanana,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle, I appreciate the time taken to write the above review of your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. It is great to learn that you loved the room and Shark Club Bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance from the housekeeper this shall be looked into and actioned as necessary. The parking is advertised on our website and all travel agent websites advising the cost I do again apologise that this was not communicated at the time of arrival training will be extended to the Front Office team in relation to this. In the meantime if I can personally assist with the Parking notice which was issued to your vehicle please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and I will look into this further with Newcastle Council on your behalf unless you have already done this with the team on departure. Thank you once again for leaving feedback we appreciate all comments received to enchance the service we deliver.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful room beyond expectation. Quiet and comfortable. Bar/restaurant very lively. Being a lone female traveller could have been a bit intimidating however from the moment I walked through the door the staff went out of their way to ensure I was looked after and made to feel at ease. Particularly the waitress Jennifer. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendiHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Right outside St James's Park, and a stones throw from the hustle of the city, this modern friendly hotel is in a prime position with a metro station across the road. Lots of modern accessories in this hotel and nice touches make it a comfortable stay. Loved the bathroom toiletries, but didn't like the big gap in the glass door!!!! Free tea and coffee in reception, restaurant and bar has an edgy feel, although not liking all the tv screens, especially at breakfast!!! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff polite, efficient and cheerful. The bathroom had a choice of shower, gentle and tidy, or a waterfall giving way to a tidal wave. Either way, the bathroom is a wet room, so no problem. Car parking available at £8 per day, first come first served basis. Overall, a nice hotel in a good position with very nice touches, very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of the city and beyond and are generally quieter due to traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynonnaEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear MynonnaEly,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. I am pleased to learn that you had a very enjoyable experience at the hotel during your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the bathroom door and television screens in the bar were not too your taste. Many thanks for taking the time to write this review your feedback is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Former business center transformed to a hotel. Walking distance to the shopping centers, train station, stadium, restaurants and clubs. Rooms are not too large, bute comfortable - my standard was rquipped with electric kettle, tea bags and even microwave. The only thing to improve - curtains (not enough effective to protect from morning sunshine) and internal A/Cunit (too noisy).
Buffet breakfasts were great, everything was fresh and tasty. In the night restaurant poroposes dance music and nice company.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are better if you want to sleep to 7-8 am (Sun in the summer was rising very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krot_krot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Krot_Krot,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle, we appreciate all feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write the above review on your recent stay. I shall look into your comments regarding the air conditioning unit and the curtains may I thank you for bringing this to my attention. It’s great to hear how you liked the location and room facilities.

We hope to see you back at Sandman Signature on your return to Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight at this gorgeous hotel as a surprise birthday gift by my wonderful husband. Reception staff are extremely friendly upon arrival. Room was absolutely spotless & we had a bottle of bubbly & chocolates waiting for us. Room has everything that you would need for a weekend away,hair dryer,iron,iPod station etc. I have read a few reviews on here about people complaining about the wet room. To be honest,we didn't see that there was any problem. Shower is magnificent and yeah,the floor does get wet but it is a wet room!
We decided to go to Prima Italian restaurant,located at Qusyside,& was another great decision on my husbands part. Food was absolutely delicious & the staff were also very friendly & helpful.
Forgot to mention that the hotel is straight across from St.James' park (Newcastle united stadium) & is quite a spectacular view!
We will definitely be returning to Sandman Signature,this time for a longer stay. 1 night is not enough to take in all that Newcastle has to offer.
Would just like to mention also,that the locals are brilliant!
Thank you to the staff at Sandman & the great people of Newcastle,Gateshead for an amazing birthday treat I will always remember!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoiltrotten11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Spoilrotten11,

Wow!! What an amazing review thank you for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle it certainly sounds like you had a truly amazing weekend we are all glad at the hotel that we could be a part of it too!

We look forward to welcoming you back and for more than one night next time!!
Many thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travelled from Australia and checked in to the Sandman Signature. We loved it. Comfortable rooms, great location, fantastic breakfast and bar and friendly staff (esp Sarah on the front desk). Reasonable rates are a bonus

Room Tip: Pick a room on Level 10, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsamsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Jdsamsara,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, it’s great to hear how much you loved your stay!! Sarah is extremely grateful of your kind comment.

If you are ever back in Newcastle in the future we would love to have you back at Sandman Signature Newcastle.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $88 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing