We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a lively city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We usually stay in one of the Quayside hotels when we stay in Newcastle but, because we were going to a concert at the City Hall we decided to try this hotel for a change. The hotel is in a good location directly opposite St James Park and literally two minutes away from the shops, bars and restaurants. We were upgraded to a suite which was an added bonus.

The staff were all very friendly, particularly in the bar, and although the bar is very lively and a bit noisy we had a great night.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a city break, although perhaps it's not the place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Llw35,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle great to hear how you decided to try us instead of your usual hotel and its sounds like we did not disappoint! Sounds like you had a great stay and we hopefully will see you again when next in Newcastle.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my 2 day stay here to attend meetings nearby. I was given a family room and was pleasantly surprised with the amenities available including the kitchenette and 3 tv's!
Certainly one I will be recommending and using again

Room Tip: Family rooms are very comfortable. I was on 2nd floor and could not hear traffic, noise from bar etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Ranjybaby,

Many thanks for such a great review of your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle great to her how you loved the room , we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the sandman the location is good, this time we had a standard room - average room lookin a little worn - cusions on bed removed coz were hairy. ?? Old condom wrapper under bed cleanliness average limited dont stop in s front facing room road noise very loud ! Parkin over road ok no spa is still a negative - bar next door can be expensive - next time we will look for an alternative a think

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi4boro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My stay at the Sandman was for 2 nights to attend a nearby conference - all the staff were very helpful especially as the hotel was very busy.

My room was very clean and comfortable with a view over the city towards St James' Park - lovely comfortable bed and free interenet access. The room also had a small fridge rather than a mini bar which meant you could purchase wine, beer etc and store it without the often expensive minibars found in other hotels. As the building used to be an office block the air conditioning units were placed against the wall of my room and was rather noisy but they did work well. I was pleased to see the tea, coffee, biscuits etc supported a local firm RIngtons and the biccies were rather nice too.

I only bought one drink in the Shark Bar so it would not be correct to comment on the bar itself but the breakfast served in there during the morning had a good selection of hot and cold items and quick friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked a junior suite on late rooms, paying £109 room only rather than £329. Lovely room, but never worth the full price. It was a large bedroom with a partition wall creating a small bedroom and small lounge area. Very nicely decorated, comfortable bed, huge shower. The kitchen area is a good idea, but basic things missing,we had saucers and bowls but no plates, and no dish cloth, so improvised with a face cloth! Pleasant service. Good location, would stay again at the right price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place was amazing right from the get go. The staff are exceptionally good, bubbly and service with a smile. The rooms were nice, although bit odd design functionality, but great none the less.

The location is great, right next to St james park and only a 5 minute walk from upmarket bars and clubs.

The best bit for me was the sharks bar. The food was good, the atmosphere and the TV's made for great premier league footy action. The staff again are exceptional, this place hands down is the best managed bar i have been too, the service was exceptional and the staff are very friendly and the women all beautiful. Nathan who is one of the managers, was a great help to us, organising clubs, etc.

Thanks.

Room Tip: The suites are so much better for not much more, especially if you have a few of you staying. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Londongent87,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle such a pleasure to read! The team are very grateful of your kind words I will pass on your comments to Nathan in the Shark Club who will be delighted.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is really close to the office I visit hence why I stay there. The whole hotel looks like a trendy furniture shop, you know the type - huge horses with a lamp sticking out its head - the kind of furniture you look at and wonder who would buy it.
The reception on trip one the lady was lovely cheery and helpful, the second trip I was less impressed the man surly and abrupt.

The room - ok its a bizarre place - I stayed the first time in a Deluxe King with sofa - was a fair size room with a kitchen area although not sure the point of this unless it is for long term travellers or females who would rather make themselves something rather than face the bar alone.
The facilities are not the best maintained - the safe didn't work, one side of the bedside light didn't work and despite asking for them to get fixed after 4 nights it still wasn't sorted. In terms of cleaning it wasn't great either I left a glass of juice at the side of my bed it remained there, glass in the sink remained there and the shampoo and such I dropped in my hurry in the morning was still lying there at night.
My second room was "with a chair" which meant that the room was split in two with a totally useless wall splitting the bed area from the sitting one - meaning both were tiny. Likewise though the cleaning wasn't great there were long hairs on the floor of the kitchen area - I don't have long black hair! I ended up cleaning it myself not great after a long day.
The rooms like so many are obviously designed by a man with no hair as there is no mirror on the desk area, or a chair near a mirror to sit at to dry your hair.
The air conditioner is mentioned in many places it is like an industrial drill its a nightmare and it is so noisy but it can be turned off - which is fine at this time of year but in winter must be a nightmare.

The bar - ok so here I just don't understand the logic of not having even an area somewhere else for guests who do not want the student bar experience with girls with tight dresses and boobs. It's noisy and crammed with slow service and certainly not the place to go for a quiet drink after work or that a sole female would feel comfortable sitting in peace. Another bar for residents would make such a difference to the business traveller but obviously not a priority for the hotel.

The food - breakfast is ok buffet does the job service again is slow for tea and such but its fine. Ranges from cereal, to pancakes, to toast and cooked food. The evening if you can stand the noise and slow service the food isn't too bad - Wednesday is Chicken Wings for 20p so you can imagine the people in there with bones galore all over the place.
Room service however was hellish cold, soggy and not worth the money, so its go out alone, cook something or brave the bar.

So all in all it does the job for a room, food is ok, and the bar well am sure for young lads its great. If I was visiting for a trip with family I'd avoid like the plague but as it's close to the office I have no doubt I'll need to use it again but would rather not if there was a choice hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $94 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing