We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic Football!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here just after our wedding to see the olympic football at St James park. They found out we were newlyweds and decided to upgrade us to a better room which was lovely. The facilities were good and room very clean. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Sandman Signature is a well located hotel across the road from St James' Park. The rooms are modern and clean however heating can be noisy and the lower floors suffer from loud traffic noise from the main road below.
The rooms are well presented with a modern bathroom. I felt the room rate was expensive given others within the city but overall an enjoyable stay. Breakfast buffet was good and served in the connected Shark Bar which offers American style food with good offers available most nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machiavelliLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A fantastic boutique hotel based in the city centre.

This Canadian chain is going to do well in the UK.

The hotel is linked with an excellent sports bar called "Shark Bar" serving chicken wings, pizza and snacks. Worth a look on a football or sporting weekend as they have several tv screens showing all matches.

The hotel is above par and the staff are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and was pleasantly surprised throughout my whole stay. Upon check in the girl at reception was very plesant and ensured my check in was swift and she also arranged a parking permit for me to use in the nearby car park. I was given a room on the 7th floor overlooking the stadium and the car park (I was able to keep an eye on my car from there). The room itself was small but was well equipped with a rather comfortable bed, fridge, microwave and safe. More importantly the room and bathroom was nice and clean. The great thing about this hotel is how close it is to the shopping quarter, its within a 10 minute walking distance to the nearby mall and China town is also close by. When I checked out of the hotel the gentleman on the front desk was really helpful and even looked up the driving directions for getting to the Metro centre. All in all a pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again when I am next back in Newcastle. But the one bad thing about this hotel is the street noise is not blocked out and you can everything that is going on outside even if the windows are closed and locked.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the rear of the hotel instead of a street facing one to avoid the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuki-ukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here with my Husband for 1 night in November as we had tickets to see Kevin Bridges at the City Hall. First impressions were that this was a very quirky hotel in the centre of Newcastle, whoever designed the Reception has real style and flare.

We arrived an hour before check-in and were prepared to leave our luggage or wait, however the receptionist was more than happy to ring the maids to see if a room was ready. Luckily it was so the check-in was quick and smooth.

The room or 'mini apartment' was impressive, very spacious, clean and bright. The bed was exceptionally comfy too. The shower room is like a wet room and a little narrow but the shower is a good size. The only small negative is that the frosted glass door to the shower room didn't quite close properly and could not be locked. It all depends on how much you like your privacy.

All in all a lovely hotel to stay in for 1 night or more and I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for the second time for one night and again had a very good experience. Rooms are clean and though somewhat on the small side are well equipped - including fridge, microwave and safe. The even have proper coat-hangers, the ones you can work with one hand! En-suites include a "wet room" type shower with both normal and overhead shower, good towels and the complimentary toiletries that so many hotels have economised on these days.
The Shark Club (bar) is of a sports-type, with screens showing sports channels and have very attentive staff who check welfare and offer table service. Drinks prices are reasonable for a hotel and there's always an offer, such as half price pizzas on Tuesday nights. Breakfast is buffet style and unremarkable but satisfactory. Ideally located next to St James' Park and just across the road from Chinatown, within 3 minutes walk of the major shops. Parking is free between 18:00 and 08:00 across the road in the Metro car park, or if you prefer there's a multi-storey round the corner (in China town) for £9.20 for 12-24 hours.

Room Tip: It can be a little noisy in the early morning in the lower floor front bedrooms (from traffic) so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandLillyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Really modern new hotel in great location for Newcastle city centre. Perfect for shops and visit to china town. Really nice staff and great service. Room was not so well planed for comfort although 3 TV's.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel off main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $94 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing