We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Myself and three girls stayed here for one night. The hotel lobby is beautiful and check-in was quick and easy. It is on a main road so you do have to park and walk across but it's three mins max!

The room was stunning. We had a family room so one double bed and bunk beds. Bathroom was beautiful and the shower was great! We had champagne in the room on arrival with plenty glasses provided.

Breakfast the next morning was yummy - hot buffet with plenty of choice right up until closing.

We had a great stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Personally, I think the exterior of the hotel makes it look like a grim office block, but thankfully inside the hotel is much more welcoming! We were greeted by friendly reception staff in what is an attractive reception. We paid an extra £10 at check-in to upgrade to a suite so we got a little extra space and a kitchenette area with microwave, cooker and plenty of cupboard space. Given that this is sold as a 'studio' it seems a bit odd that you don't get a bath in the bathroom, if people are perhaps staying longer and are more likely to cook their own food you might expect better bathing facilities? Some of the finish in the bathroom was also a little tatty...the tiling left a lot to be desired, and although the hotel has not been open long the flimsy lock on the bathroom door had already been broken. The water from the shower literally drains away to a slit in the floor which unfortunately led to some flooding of the tiles outside of the shower! The room itself was plenty large enough with a sofa at the end of the bed to watch TV if you desired. Bed was large Nd comfortable with lots of plump cushions and pillows to wallow in. Did not try breakfast at the hotel but wi-fi was perfectly functional and speedy. Although we were quite near the lift we did not find noise to be a problem. However the doors of the kitchenette were not fitted with 'soft-close' systems and we heard slammings from next door on a couple of occasions. Well located as only a short walk into the city centre. The main car park is located on the opposite side of the road where I understand there are limited places for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

beautiful hotel in a superb location. looked out of the triple window in our room for them all to be filled with st james park. room was gorgeous. wish we were staying longer than the 1 night. it was really comfortable. we ate in the hotel bar/restaurant. the food was delicious although the actual bar/restaurant was abit to masculine for me. noisy, cold and totally centred around football. sky sports/news on all the teles dotted around the room and there were lots of teles!

Room Tip: would of preferred a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is in a great location. However my room was so dark and depressive. Walls were dirty and damp. Hotel is neglected big time. Staff was very helpful and nice , breakfast was horrible!!!!!!nothing exciting apart from Sepecial-K flakes cos was in individual boxes.

Room Tip: No idea! Wherever is clean, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muruvet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was just as nice if not nicer than the pics. We were there for a night out and didn't even need a taxi as the likes of tiger tiger is literally round the corner. Definitely staying there on my next trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmepwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We popped over to Newcastle for a couple of days to shop , the sandman provided an early check in which we were thrilled with ! We dropped our bags to our suite & went off 2 shop for the day . The only negative thing I could say was the bathroom door was somewhat transparent with a lightly frosted glass & it was 3 women on this trip & it didn't allow 4 much in the way of privacy ; other than that the hotel was ideally located with st.james park across the rd & shops a short stroll away , food was delicious & rooms were immaculate : a tip for any1 who is travelling don't use the taxi service recommended by the hotel we used it several times the 1 st day & evening & found the drivers 2 be unfriendly & they never had change so a 5pound fare could cost you up to twenty if you hadn't the proper change ! Beware ... Would definitely stay @ the sandman again if I had 2 travel 2 Newcastle

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked in to Sandman Newcastle via LateRooms, £69.99 for a King room without breakfast.
Check in was good.
Room was excellent, very modern and stylish decor.
Good bathroom.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $80 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing