We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Merchants Quay Week2Week(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Friars Gate Luxury Apartments(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Spa
Chasley Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
County Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Motel One Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
701
513
273
96
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
513
273
96
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst james parkshark clubsharks barfootball groundfridge and microwavefootball stadiumking roomkitchen areawet roomcity centreair conrain showerbathroom floorbar downstairslovely hoteleldon squarecar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,453 - 1,458 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really smart hotel. Good check in and fresh hot drinks on arrival and available during the stay. Studio rooms with kitchenettes are awesome. Beds comfortable in spacious room, small sitting room and study area. Wet room is a bonus.
Free wifi throughout the hotel without having to bother with codes.
Bar food good value but Soda water at £1.65 a glass a bit steep even with free refills.
Staff friendly and attentive. Location good and is just a short distance from the centre. Hotel quiet and good sound proofing from outside and adjoining rooms.

Pleased to have found this hotel, would like to keep it a secret but want to share as well. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the Sandman on 22nd October 2012 and were given a room on the third floor directly overlooking St.James's Park which was spectacular.
We arrived late afternoon time and there we plenty of spaces available in the hotel spaces opposite the hotel in a public car park which itself was next to a Metro Station so good transport links. The town centre is seconds away and if you like Oriental food the hotel is almost on Stowell Street and Chinatown.
We found the hotel to be ultra modern in decor and the public areas and bar were very trendy. We did not eat in the Shark Bar but had a drink there and there was a good atmosphere. Breakfast is served in that area and there was a great selection of cooked and cold items as well as a selection of Canadian foods.
Staff were very helpful for example when I realised we had forgotten toothpaste they brought some straight up and we were not charged.
Great hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbeattie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Sandman is well decorated and fixtures of high standard but the bedroom is just a little too small, comfortable but not quite what we expected from a Canadian owned hotel. I'm not sure how a large transatlantic visitor would manage to get out of one side of the bed in the King room! It was probably the smallest room we have had in a hotel of this quality.
The hotel's location is good and we had no problem getting one of the available parking slots. On arrival the staff in reception were excellent and helpful and the reception area is certainly noteworthy with it's hanging chair, life size horse with a lamp coming out of it's head and free coffee on tap.
We had bed and breakfast for 2 nights, the breakfast was not hot when we went down at 9 am and had been well picked over. I assume that most people staying here are on business and by 9 am most have been and gone. I'm not sure it represents good value, it's a quick grab it self service meal in a multi TV bar, not a relaxed breakfast experience. Having said that, our server, Colin, learned that my wife is gluten intolerant on the first day of our stay and arranged that for day 2 she could have gluten free cereal and cooked breakfast potato (which Canadian hotels always offer as standard). Cannot praise Colin enough, he was excellent. We thought it strange that no rice based cereals or potato / hash browns were on a fairly expensive buffet, just pancakes.
Would we stay here again? Despite the quality of the decorations, the excellent staff service and it's quirky modernity, probably not because there are so many other comparatively prices hotels in Newcastle with larger rooms to chose from.

Room Tip: Take one of the larger rooms on offer if there are 2 persons in your party, the king rooms are simply too small for 2.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just got back from a night away in the Sandman Signature Hotel. Lovely hotel, very modern. Room was a bit small but it was decorated to a high standard. Bathroom was really nice, although we had to be careful not to flood the floor as the shower is more like a wet room. I like the fact that the hotel still seemed new even though it had been open for just over a year. Carpets and decoration still fresh. We didn’t have any food so cannot comment on that, went into the bar that is run by the hotel, nice and relaxing, drinks a bit more expensive than the local pub but that’s to be expected from a hotel. The food served in the bar looked very appetising from what I could see. Staff at the hotel are really professional, friendly and attentive.

The hotel was about 15mins walk to the metro arena, ok if it’s not raining, pre book a taxi though, it’s a nightmare trying to get one to get back to the hotel from outside the arena. All in all, a nice hotel central for shopping and nights out. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the road at the front is very busy, even through the night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for a night in July, was really great. Nice, helpful staff, comfy room and an amazing bathroom. Also, right in the middle of town so really convenient. Avoid walking into the giant horse in the reception. Not full of noisy people going on/coming home from nights out, unlike other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews