We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its not delux its disgust !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park Gate Hotel
co durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its not delux its disgust !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

don't stay there it is an absolute dump..stinking rooms with the worst facilities known to man couldn't get in the beds didn't dare people running up and down all night long trying the doors banging on the doors the one staff looked like he hadn't had a wash for years and was about as inviting as a don't no what and to top it off we payed to stay in delux rooms that was a joke the ensuite was a shower and sink in the room no toilet my advice it wants shutting down it is a joke don't be deceived whilst booking !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't choose any !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    9
    6
    25
See reviews for
2
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is not a hotel in any way it is a HOSTEL, do not be fooled. Door is left wide open all night which is scary! Can do what the hell you like in this squat smoke in rooms anything you like they do not care. The shared facilities are awful! Do not stay here, must say we had a lovely view of the mosque though!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelhuntersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The chap was nice enough and it is what it says on the tin; basic and geared towards weekend revellers who don't mind where they are staying and want a free rein to behave how they want. Unfortunately a friend booked this so I had no idea what to expect when we arrived and my stomach sank - as a group of girls, we were able to laugh it off and enjoy the weekend but had I been staying here alone or with a smaller group, I wouldn't have even made it through the door. Not a hotel in any sense, more like a cheap dodgy bedsit in what appears to be a run down area. Our room had a smiley face made from fag burns in the curtains, you were left with the uneasy feeling of thinking 'god knows what this room has seen'. The thought of it being rented by the hour would not surprise me in any way. Whilst I cannot say it was dirty, it certainly was not a pleasant experience. If you want basic, book a well known budget chain, this was something entirely different.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monepalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mates planned to stay here after a night out in Newcastle we were told there would be a free car park that was patrolled it turned out this was a council car park built for people to use the local mosque and there was signs displaying the times you could park. We eventually parked up at the side of the hotel went in to sort the payment out, the guy on the desk said there's no rules if we wanted to smoke hang our heads out the window. We went to the rooms very basic a bed and a sink not particularly clean we decided to leave booked a 4star hotel in the middle of the city 50 pound a room, west park hotel charged 40 pound for a double room. Will never go there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Bad location.far from town! Very dodgy area! Room is as small as a cell with only a bed and a sink. Can be quite noisy with parties at night and we were locked out of the hotel when the party was going on and couldn't get in even after ringing the doorbell a million times. However, top floors are quiet and the price is cheap. Wouldn't recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappycustomer134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After walking through the entrance door and into the so called reception my thoughts of this hotel were quickly getting worse and worse. With an electric heater in the corner beaming out a "red light" was I sure it was a hotel or a bro@@@l ???? The rooms were freezing, damp, dated, dirty, the list goes on. There was one cosy dark and dirty shower and toilet between half the rooms in the hotel!!!! The so called walk into the town was a taxi ride, the "rooms to let" sign was questionable. Whoever wrote anything good about this place must be mad. There isn't anything good about it. Awful awful awful!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natthehat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you're a group of guys and/or gals heading for a night out in Newcastle, looking for a base to put your head down at the end of the night then West Park Hotel is the place for you. Newcastle city centre is located within close proximety and you can easilly walk it in 5-10 minutes.

Don't get me wrong the place isn't well maintained, with quite alot to be desired for but for the budget concious like myself who are literally looking for somewhere to sleep then you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#56 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Gate Hotel

Property: The Park Gate Hotel
Address: 157 Elswick Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Park Gate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Park Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing