We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be able to walk to”
Review of Avanti

Avanti
Reserve with OpenTable
Avanti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 1,271 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice to be able to walk to”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice inside - comfortable and relaxed and they made an effort to make sure we got a table for four. We ordered x2 bottles house wine, a red & white and they were very nice.
The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and staff seem very helpful.
The starters were ok - I had Whitebait and it was nice but the batter a little heavy and too many of them. The rest of the party had Garlic Mushrooms - good, Bruschetta also good
The main course were Pizza, Lasagne & Rissotto and all very nice but so much of it - the Calzone was way to big and a little overwhelming
However it was all good and we had a lovely evening and would recommend for a regular night out

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrQuincy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    58
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrendous”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have not been so dissapointed in a meal as much as tonight... Restaurant that is normally warm, welcoming & produces good food,has so went downhill, potato skins were dry & had a horrible taste, pizza was def frozen couldn't even cut it, & when you did it just dragged the topping off. For how much topping there was actually on the pizza, the base was heavy & awful, drinks very overpriced & waiter kept hovering around rushing u out the door as soon as u finished starters they were putting your main course Down not giving u time to have a chat!! They have got rid of the candles (real ones) that create the romantic feel, and replaced them with those horrible battery ones!! Totally ruined our evening out, that we rarely get,total waste of money, as it put us in a foul mood all night, go bk to the way you were or lose customers I say...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kissbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“out of this world”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

i could not fault this restraunt. service was great warm and friendly. I had avocado prawns for starter was very tasty. king prawns for my main meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 675christine_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I visited this restaurant after deciding to go for a birthday meal in Jesmond and regretted it. The two waiting staff serving looked like they hated their jobs and walked around like sulking teenagers and the manageress/older lady working there wasn't much better.
After having to ask for someone to take our orders we received our starters after a short wait. Our main course arrived shortly after and we were all very disappointed as the pizza bases were clearly frozenl; this wouldn't have been a problem if they werent advertised as "freshly made" and we could actually cut into them. The toppings were sparse and looked as though they'd been re-heated. We brought this to the older ladys attention who was more interested in not letting the next table hear of our disappointment than actually satisfying us. We left after giving the food back and paying for our starter.
There are lots of lovely italian restaurants in Jesmond but I certainly wouldn't recommend Avanti to anyone.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSwan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went into this restaurant by accident, we had a groupon for around the corner. We decided to stay as the happy hour was on, lovely atmosphere - warm and cosy, lots of choice and prices were very reasonable.
Excellent food and service. Will definitely go back and glad we found it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningDiner_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Avanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing