We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Art Deco Cinema”
Review of Tyneside Cinema

Tyneside Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the Tyneside Cinema, we give a trip to the pictures the sense of occasion it deserves.We show the best films in stylish and beautiful surroundings, and our varied programme ranges from brilliant films from all over the world to the best Hollywood has to offer. As the last surviving Newsreel theatre still operating as a cinema full-time in the UK, our Grade II-listed building is an important, must-see piece of heritage, not just regionally, but nationally too and it has been lovingly restored to preserve and celebrate the grandeur of its original 1937 art deco design.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Art Deco Cinema”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Cinema is a Newcastle institution being housed in a fabulous 1930s building and cared for by great staff. It has a superb cafe and the whole place exudes a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Most definitely my favourite cinema in Newcastle and a great change from the usual chain locations. Has a constantly changing and interesting programme of films which, over a period, will cater for all tastes. If you like going to the cinema it is a not to be missed venue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonylc-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    151
    22
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

attended a premiere here and really loved the cafe the theatre we were in and the whole feel of the place is quality and friendly. Totally different to the big multi screens and a lot cleaner. Great for couples.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A retro gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went to see Les Mis here. What a cracking little cinema! Several different screens, a nice cafe, comfy sofas in the auditorium, drinks and snacks available in the auditorium throughout the film, and to top it all, a little history tour of the cinema. A thoroughly entertaining experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best cinema around - attracts a nice crowd!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our favourite cinema in the area, in fact it is the only one we visit nowadays. We were fed up of going to the mainstream cinemas just to have our films ruined by ill mannered people more intent on talking, throwing food around, rustling packets and putting their feet on the seats than actually watching the movie! The Tyneside was recommended to us by word of mouth and it is an absolute godsend, it attracts a nice clientele, in pleasant surroundings with a lovely chilled atmosphere. The bars are great and there is an option to take your drinks into the screen with you. If you can book seats in the classic screen circle - they are the best seats in the house (Super comfy, lots of space and a private bar too - what's not to like?). A real credit to Newcastle - if you haven't visited, do so soon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PsychGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cinema”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great little independent cinema in the heart of Newcastle, beats going to the Odeon hands down. Great atmosphere and love the fact you can have your own little sofa for 2 with a bottle of wine!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KNorthumberland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyneside Cinema also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tyneside Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing