We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personally Disappointed - others not so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Social - CLOSED

Food Social
Price range: $0 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Personally Disappointed - others not so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

6 of us went to eat at the restaurant as part of our weekend in Newcastle, and although the others in the party seemed reasonably happy with their mean, i was disappointed.
I had the terrine and only ate half of it as it tasted slightly off. My main course - Ribeye was cooked as requested but again was not to my taste.
I can't fault the restaurant for the service or the ambiance, but was disappointed with the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank escargo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    71
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“I should have done this a while ago.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Since it opened, I've been going here on a regular basis. The team working there are pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. The quality of food is consistently brilliant and excellent value.

For my birthday, while all other restaurants were making awkward stipulations & requests the team at Food Social were nothing but helpful accommodating myself and around 25 guests at relatively short notice.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place for any occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenBrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sunday Lunch with six adults, an 8yr old and a 6yr old. Efficient confirmation reply to my email about booking. The kids have the attention span of a gnat and the manners of lowland gorillas, so I really must credit the staff with the fantastic way in which they engaged with the kids by crouching down to eye level, offering them crayons and paper, some clear choices and generally making them feel special with simple choices that were completely off menu. The Sunday menu has a simple choice of five starters, five mains, five desserts, with an entirely reasonable pricing structure based on the number of courses you have. "1 COURSE - £9.95 | 2 COURSES - £13.95 | 3 COURSES - £17.95". We visited 27th October 2013 and whilst there seemed to be a bit of difficulty getting the food out quickly, it didn't really matter as the ambience was lovely and the food was visually impressive and really good when it arrived. The adults were satisfied with a starter and main course only. We enjoyed it and I'd be keen to explore the weekday menu sometime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner here; not quite what we were expecting but what a fantastic experience from start to finish. Impeccable customer service from everyone we encountered and superb food and drink. Very stylish surroundings made for a memorable evening. You must go!

Helpful?
Thank Maddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lunch on Friday was as usual exceptional, Fish at it's best!!! Super service, relaxed atmosphere. Nothing more needs saying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank expatpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Social also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing