We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress free eating”
Review of Food Social - CLOSED

Food Social
Price range: $0 - $81
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Prudhoe
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Stress free eating”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having been to lots of restaurants you often feel that you do not have your own space. Some times it is a bit uncomfortable as you are too close to other diners. Not in this establishment. A lot of thought has been given to the seating arrangements to great affect. The décor and the furnishings and the lighting made for a very nice ambience while we were making our selection from the menu.
Getting to the food, you could instantly tell that it is freshly prepared. Starters and mains were both tasty and devoured with a smile.
The service it has to be said was very polite and courteous. It is well worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesdawsonprudhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    71
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed Food Social so much the first time that when we had friends visiting there was no doubt about where we were going to take them for a meal. Food social did not let us down, food looked and tasted great and service from the friendly staff was top notch! Great night was had by all, thank you. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vixx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FAULTLESS IN EVERY WAY.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself and my husband are very passionate about food, as such we eat out very often. We travel to eat well but also recognise the gems we have in the local area.
David Kennedys restaurant based in the Biscuit Factory is a firm favourite of ours and has been for a very long time. We visit regularly with our children for Sunday lunch, it's a real family favourite - our children, when given a choice, ask to go here!
And so, when it was a very special anniversary for us we didn't struggle in our decision to celebrate it here, and thank goodness we did, it turned out to be one of the best dining experiences we have had anywhere. The food was exquisite, my husband had called in advance to arrange a couple of special requests, all of which were dealt with discretely but professionally. Nothing was too much trouble. The waiting staff were amazing, really fantastic, I can not speak higher of their friendly, efficient service which made us feel so very welcome. They knew when to leave us to enjoy our fantastic food but were always on hand to provide an exceptional service.
I couldn't recommend this place more, we strive to find an establishment where food matches service with regards to exceptionally high standards and if you only eat at one place in Newcastle, whether it be as a family or for an intimate meal this should be it. Heartfelt thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finefoodfiend11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic staff, superb experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After doing loads of research and scoping out a dozen or so venues all over the North East my wife and I chose Food Social to host our wedding breakfast and reception in April 2013 - not your typical dining experience, I know, but hopefully this review will give an indication of the high quality of the food, professionalism of the staff and the uniqueness of the venue.

From the planning stages right through to the big day itself we had unfaltering support from the management and staff and were basically given a blank slate to do whatever we wanted at an extremely reasonable price (considering they were basically closing the restaurant for us). They helped us choose a wedding breakfast menu for our 22-strong party as well as catering for 100+ evening guests.

Our big day was near perfection and this was largely thanks to the dedication and hard work of the Food Social staff as they helped organise decoration, guest arrival, cooking, cleaning, serving, tending the bar, helping a live band set up etc etc. Our guests and the pair of us just got on with the party and had an incredible day.

Unconventionally we gave our wedding party guests a choice of food (which Food Social were happy to accommodate) including: Baba ganoush, prawn cocktail or pate followed by salmon, chicken or veggie option (sorry can't remember what it was) followed by a spectacular wedding cake! The food was universally praised, beautifully presented, well portioned and typically delicious. In the evening the chefs prepared a 'hot fork buffet' for approx 100 people which went down an absolute storm! The live band we'd hired said it was the best food they'd ever eaten at a wedding reception and we received numerous remarks from friends and family subsequently saying the evening buffett was particularly delicious.

We were extremely impressed by the professionalism, warmth and efficiency of the Food Social staff (all of whom still work at the restaraunt as far as I have seen). They ensured everything ran smoothly and somehow managed to keep everyone suitably refreshed, well fed and able to enjoy the day. Special thanks to Mr Price and his colleague who co-ordinated the whole event and managed to keep not only my bride/wife happy but also all of our (quite demanding) family members.

Overall we wouldn't heistate to recommend Food Social, whether it be for a meal with friends and family or a full-blown wedding celebration. It's stylish, well priced and serves gorgeous food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nooooddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Graduation Meal!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We dined here for our daughters graduation meal as we wanted something really special. We enjoyed the food and the price was what we expected. However the atmosphere lacked any ambience, the seating was very uncomfortable. I don't think the staff were over friendly. All in all I wouldn't dine here again. This restaurant didn't tick all the boxes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Social also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing