We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I like a good old cheap and cheerful hotel. Especially when your only there for a night out. This did the trick. Simple, basic. Excellent location walking distance to the bars etc. Great when your in heels :-)

Room Tip: There isn't a good room LOL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities, If required a towel is requested it could be provided for a small refundable deposit. We have lost many towels over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    10
    11
    27
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here as a stag group. It was exactly what we needed, a room with beds right in the centre of Newcastle. The beds are very uncomfortable if you are sober, the rooms and bathroom are reasonably clean. The hostel as I would call it, in no way could you call it a hotel, is only there for one purpose and that is to house stag/ hen groups when they are not out drinking. So bearing in mind it's location and purpose it is not badly priced. If you want something more than a room with a bed and a bathroom go somewhere else. WARNING they do take £20 deposit per person so don't trash the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldric313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities. Yes we are a Hostel-Hotel and the reason we take a £20 refundable deposit is because of so much damage created to the Hotels across the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The only positives are the location which is faultless to local bars and clubs and the price which is about the cheapest you'll get around. The beds were very uncomfortable and the carpets are in desperate need of a clean. The bathroom was fine and toilet and shower worked fine. We were in the top room which is a long walk up the stairs about three flights. We left the window open most the time however this left a horrible smell from the chip shop downstairs. Overall we got it very cheap but even so I think that the quality could have been at least a little better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least recognised our basic amenities. Being on the top floor was a little unlucky, extra oxegen is required if your not fit. Not sure if you were at the rear of the premises also, unfortunately the extraction units run to the top of the buildings from the Takeaway and all the other food premises nearby. It might have been best to keep the window closed, sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels in my time and can honestly say this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the shower barely worked and my mattress was so bad I couldn't quite believe it, it was basically a bag of springs. This place is NOT worth the location. Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I can only apologise the room was not cleaned to your satisfaction, they are always cleaned after use, and the shower may have not worked properly because of variable pressure, sometimes you have to try a little later on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Where to start, this could be the worse hostel i have ever stayed in. We didn’t expect too much as i have read some other reviews and we knew we were booking just for a bed. We arrived at night and the staff were extremely rude and didn’t what to answer any questions. We gave a deposit and asked for a receipt but that really annoyed them for some reason. Our room was shocking, we had slugs on the floor which we had to remove, the bathroom door had no handle and couldn’t close right, the toilet seat was also broken and had no curtains so at 7am light beams in while you are trying to sleep . Woke up one morning to find slugs had gone all over our stuff and left a trail, also couldn’t get out of the room because the lock had broken which is a major fire hazard.
Location is great but i would rather walk for 30 minutes then stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCD_12_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, General Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
"I'm sorry there was an issue with your room. We try to keep everything ship-shape but sometimes previous guests don't respect our property" The hygiene of the rooms we take seriously, they are cleaned after every guest. We endevour to repair damages as soon as we can, and if dangerous in any way we close the room down until repairs are carried out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

booked for 18 guys for weekend, upon arrival we were informed that the hotel was full and there was no booking for us, that weekend as booking had been made for weekend before, I know for a fact the date i booked but there was nothing we could other than find somewhere else to stay, I had paid a deposit of £200.00 and never got a penny back, PLEASE BE CAREFUL TO GET SOME FORM OF CONFIRMATION.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanRitchie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, General Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
The issue with this booking was that they had booked the wrong dates. Any fees charged or refunded are always explained in our booking conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a good hotel/hostel to stay we were a group of 10.
Heroes in right in the middle of all the night life the rooms were small but all you need for a 2 night stay it was clean and warm.
The staff were friendly and helpfull
The train station was just at the bottom of the street
You could not get a better hostel for the price the room are onsuite and privet
All the shop are just on the door step to so no reason for taxi so that is a big bonues and a good saving

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly17121978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for a good response to your stay in Newcastle, hope you had a great time in the Bigg Market and come back again. Heroes is a basic Hotel-Hostel at a cheap price with money left over for more booze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heroes Hostel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Property: Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Address: 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heroes Hostel-Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Hotel/Hostel Welcome to Heroes Hotel - Hostel... Heroes Hostel-Hotel is within the walls of the City of Newcastle on Tyne. It is 10 metres from the famous 'Bigg Market'. You are within walking distance of the Theatre Royal, the Cathedrals, the Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle United Football Ground, the Newcastle Quayside and Bridges. 'The Gate' entertainment complex, bars and Aspers Casino. The 'EldonSquare' Shopping Centre is only 100 metres from Heroes Hostel-Hotel. The Gateshead MetroCentre is a 15 min bus or train ride away. The whole of the North East history is within your reach, visit the world famous 'Hadrians Wall' and 'Vindolanda Roman Camp' which is an acclaimed World Heritage site. Also Fun days can be arranged such as paintballing, go-karting, clay pigeon shooting Heroes Hostel-Hotel is in the City Centre and is in a redeveloped Victorian Building. It has 11 bedrooms over 3 floors, comprising Twin & Triple Bunk Beds in 11 rooms for 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 persons. All of the 11 rooms are en-suite with shower, toilet & washbasin. The private rooms all include bed linen and private shower rooms. Guests can also make use of free Wi-Fi at Heroes Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heroes Hostel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing