We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Babucho

Babucho
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited here on the friday night, the restaurant was very busy. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to please us . We waited in the bar having cocktails while our table became availiable. When our table was ready we were shown through the back . I ordered crispy squid to start followed by a steak all of which were cooked perfectly. If i'm back in Newcastle i will definately eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    365
    137
    64
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday afternoon around 4 pm. When we entered without a booking we were welcomed and sat quickly. We ate from the lunch set menu, sharing the starter and pudding. The choice was good for a set menu and the value and quality was excellent. The waiter was very attentive and seemed that he was really bothered about how we were enjoying our meal and drinks. Will definitely return as really enjoyed the atmosphere and food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORDIEGIRL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best sunday dinner”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been to babucho on a few occasions with the family the steak n chips are fantastic its a must try. On sunday 23 march we thought we would try the sunday dinner the quality of the food was excellent everything about this restaurant is good try it you wont be disappionted .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and setting”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Loved this restaurant! We were in newcastle for hen weekend and booked here for dinner on our first night. Had big table near back that was up a few steps so away from other tables which was nice as we were a big party. We had a set menu which included a shared starteer and pudding and we ordered which main we wanted. Starters and puddings came on tiered serving things which was a great idea we got to try everything. food and wine was all really good and great value for money. Was a great start to our first night and I would definatly return if in newcastle again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nothing wrong really in terms of food but we enjoyed the good atmosphere and the ambience of the place. Lively clientele and the pace of service suited us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank heidiblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babucho also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Babucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing