We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & welcoming, will definately visit again when in Newcastle!”
Review of Babucho

Babucho
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern & welcoming, will definately visit again when in Newcastle!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We dined here early evening on Friday 19th April, having travelled down from Glasgow to take my son to the WWE Wrestling. Every aspect was faultless, front of house- very welcoming, our waiter, Jason, was wonderful, attentive and very good with my little boy, engaging him in conversation & a bit of a carry on! My son had the kids cod & chips, which was very good and proper cod, not mushed up & reformed! I opted for the seabass special on Jason's recommendation and was not disappointed! Seabass wrapped in Parma ham cooked to perfection, accompanied by crab mousse & rocket was delicious. Unfortunately never sampled desert as someone was too excited and wanted to get to the arena!! The whole place is immaculate & loos are sparkling (always a good sign!!) Overall a very good experience, excellent staff, lovely ambience and lovely surroundings. Thanx!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    381
    140
    67
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice and will go back”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Took clients to this restaurant and there was a group of 10, booked the party menu at 25.95 a head, sharing platters to start then choice of main and sharing dessert, the food was fantastic and every member of staff was happy friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was great and the food was fantastic i cannot think of anything negative to say, everybody had a great time service wine and food were faultless

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulacmarie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is one of the nicest restaurants I have been to the food was yummy and the service great, value was good too a must try when in the area ,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I tried this place with my husband and 7yr old daughter after a days shopping around Newcastle. We were laden down with bags and the staff kindly put our bags into a side room so they weren't under our table. The décor is very stylish and they have an open kitchen with a huge pizza oven which is a nice touch. Our meals were all lovely and it was good value for money. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent night out !”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went out with friends and opted for an early tea.
People should be aware that this isn't a restaurant you can just hope there is a table free as there won't be ! Reservations are a must.
Decor is opulence and decadent.
Choice of menu is vast to satisfy every taste from pasta to burgers to fish and pizza.
I had the fried calamari to start which was lush. Our friends say the chicken livers are to die for as a starter. For main I had king prawn skewers with raisin rice, again was lovely just a little too spicey for me but I still enjoyed it. My hubby had a calzone and he said it was the best he had ever had. For dessert I had the profiteroles with warm chocolate sauce. It was lush.
Prices are reasonable and if you don't want to dine, they have slovenly bar to sip cocktails in too.
Excellent place for a good atmosphere, staff are very attentive, polite and friendly
Can't wait to visit again !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babucho also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Babucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing