We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic”
Review of The Ware Rooms Bar

The Ware Rooms Bar
Ranked #360 of 1,279 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: What’s the secret to a great bar? Doing the simple things really well… it’s that easy. Great drinks, food, service and music… all the time. Designed by one of Newcastle’s premier bar designers, we have created comfortable, relaxed and inviting surroundings in which to enjoy all the great things we offer. With all-day dining from 7am until 9pm, ‘proper’ coffee, an extensive wine list and an original cocktail list, we are confident that you will return again and again.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went here after it first opened after a reading a top review in the Evening Chronicle. All the food was pre-packed stuff. Ding food - microwave. Didn't even have any real Bacardi ... just white rum! Seating is on benches in some places, decor is gory, a real heartless place! The date I added for my attendance is obviously wrong, but is the closet I could get from the drop down menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at The Ware Rooms Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Jane W

Thanks for taking the time to review The Ware Rooms for Tripadvisor.

I appreciate your comments on our food service though the feedback is now almost two years old (the Evening Chronicle Review appeared just after our opening in March 2011).

Please be aware that there is always a Duty Manager on shift 24 hours a day who will be delighted to listen to your concerns, and take appropriate action at the time.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional atmosphere & service.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We used The Ware Rooms for our daughters baptismal party & our surprise wedding party. Was more than enough room for our 150+ guests. Catering was exceptional and plentyful. Great use of area for our wedding decorations which the staff put up and decorated to our specifications. Including blowing up the 80 balloons. Great selection of draught and bottled lagers for the guys and a fair list of wines & spirits for the ladies.
All in all, a very pleasant, enjoyable and memorable night by all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyontour_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at The Ware Rooms Bar, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello jimmyontour

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review on your recent event at The Ware Rooms.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and your day went ahead fantastically well.

I was so pleased the team on duty looked after your family and friends so well and I hope you will all come and see us again in the near future.

Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for our engagement party!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We hosted our engagement party at The Warerooms on Saturday and thought it was the perfect venue! We are 25 and 27 and had a big range of ages there from 18-70 and all had a great time and said how good the venue was. The staff,particularly Ben,were great leading up to the event replying promptly to emails,service was also great on the night! We had 70 guests and had the back half of the bar which was more than enough space. The warerooms allowed us to play our own iPod through their sound system which worked a treat. Instead of a buffet they supplied us with chicken tikka masala,chilli con carne,a veggie chickpea curry,all with rice at only £5 a head! And the chicken curry was particularly delicious! Unfortunatley we catered for far too many but that was fault on our behalf not theirs-if you're having a party and intend to do this I'd recommend telling your guests on the invite you'll be providing food as most of ours had already eaten :( the warerooms is a tastefully decorated,quirky venue perfect for parties (I forgot to mention the room hire is free) and just for a sociable drink/meal. I would highly recommend it to anyone and will more than likely return for my husband to be's 30th birthday party (he just doesn't know it yet!!). Thanks to all the lovely staff that made our engagement party such a success,Rachael and Sean :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RachAndSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at The Ware Rooms Bar, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Rach and Sean

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor for your recent function at The Ware Rooms.

I was delighted to note that everything went smoothly and you enjoyed your engagement party.

It was fantastic that you felt looked after by the team, both in the build up and during your event, and I have already passed on your comments to the team.

Congratulations on your engagement from everyone at Euro Hostel and The Ware Rooms and I hope to see you both again very soon.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Work colleagues retirement”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went to thus place for a work mates retirement after 30 years in the fire service. Id never been to this place before and didn't know it existed but what a great place. Friendly, happy, helpfull staff made it a great night. That combined with the atmosphere and spacious environment made it a great evening and defo a place I will return to

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at The Ware Rooms Bar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello Morphas

Your comments on your recent visit to The Ware Rooms are greatly appreciated by the entire team.

I was delighted to note you had a great night at the retirement party and hope to be able to welcome you back to the bar in the near future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The ware rooms is one of my regular bars in Newcastle. Drinks are really reasonably priced and the staff are friendly.

Good pool table and comfy sofa seats. What else do you need?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at The Ware Rooms Bar, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Jert11

Thanks for reviewing The Ware Rooms for Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very much appreicated and I'm delighted to see note you visit the bar regularly.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ware Rooms Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ware Rooms Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing