We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back for another tasty meal!”
Review of Thali - CLOSED

Thali
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We will be back for another tasty meal!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our Saturday evening meal at Thali. The food was very attractive, beautiful colours and fresh crisp garnishes. The main courses were delicious, as was the mixed vegetable pilau rice and the garlic naan bread. The portions are very generous and the meat good quality. There was a nice atmosphere, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Sueandallan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We visited Thali on Friday evening and caught their happy hour 3 course special,
For £8.95 you get a choice of starter, main, rice or naan and an ice cream.

For starters we opted for chicken tikka and onion bhaji which were delicious, main course I had the chicken tikka massala and the other half the chicken madras, good sized portions.

In total we spent about £50 which included 2 bottles of wine.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service great night out”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Been to the Thali a couple of time before as couples,however this time came with 18 friends for a birthday night out . Food was excellent and service was first class. Even for a big group every one was served at the same time and no-one was left waiting. All of the party enjoyed the food and will return.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizMc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Tried Thali after looking for a good Indian Restaurant in town and having read the reviews it seemed to tick all the boxes. As there were just 2 of us we didnt bother to book and only had a couple of minutes wait while waiting for a table to come free. The restaurant was really busy and had a lovely atmosphere. We were given our wine to drink whilst checking out the menu which was nice. The food was great, we shared the mixed kebab & a chicken Roshun curry which was fantastic and had just the right amount of heat. Only downside are the toilets, they are spotlessly clean but there is only one and you can spend some time in the queue waiting your turn when its busy. We had to vacate the table at the end of the meal to sit in the reception area whilst we were finished our wine, but as we hadnt booked a table we thought that fine. The staff were very apologetic at having to move us but handled it with excellent customer service and a smile. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend a meal at Thali, it was just excellent !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thegeordies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Now my favourite Newcastle Indian restaurant”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Went along last Friday night having tried several othere Indian restaurants in the same street that quite frankly disappointed. Service was extremely attentive and friendly and we were allowed to enjoy our meals without feeling rushed to vacate the premises. The food was among the best I've tatsed anywhere and we will be heading back to Thali next time we are in Newcastle, our serach for a great Indian restaurant is over.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thali also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing