We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and lively” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Comet

The Victoria Comet
Ranked #369 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You'll find The Victoria Comet in the centre of Newcastle, directly opposite Newcastle Central Railway Station and a short stroll from the O2 Academy and St Nicholas Cathedral - and you won't find another pub quite like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely and lively”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lively place and food is tasty and is great value for money. Staff friendly and the place is very handy for the railway station Will eat and drink there again :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calmspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    17
    2
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Welcome Port in a Storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We called in at O'Neil's on Thursday just for an hour to kill time whilst waiting for a train after a ferry trip to Amsterdam. On the outward journey we had called in at the nearby Wetherspoons, and what a miserable cold and uninviting place it was, people hugging the radiators trying to keep warm whilst the air conditioning was blowing out cold air. The barstaff said there had been a staff meeting, the room was'sweaty' and couldn't change the air con as it was on a timer! I couldn't' wait to leave.

O'Neil's was warm, inviting and had great music. A nice touch was the candles on the tables on a cold dark lunchtime. I only had a coke so can't rate the food, but 5/5 for warmth and atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank dawn6728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I went to the pub on a Thursday for dinner and found it to be a nice atmosphere with a great fish and chips. The service was what you would expect for a pub and a Guinness and Fish and Chips was £10. If you are in Newcastle I would recommend it,

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

had a great weekend in newcastle rounded off by a great breakfast in here on Sunday!! service and food was fantastic would deffo go back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank howieboli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Irish Pub ? without Irish hospitality and poor food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

as located the opposite the train station, we just stopped for a quick snack and drinks..we ordered the fish sharing platter ; 2 skewer of marinated prawns ( @2 prawns each ) 2 thinly slice of overdried garlic bread, 8 bites size oily fried squids bits, 2 overcooked and barely eatable fish goujons and 2 mini colcannon cake topped with slice of dried smoked salmon. when we were asking for the tartar sauce and the salad, which are included in the meal, the grumpy waiter said : "We never served this with the salad " so my wife who's spent some time in Dublin showed him the menu and ask him politely to read the menu, after few mins studying the menu, he just shrugged his shoulder and made a comment " This company just amazed me " ...oh hello...?? you are free to quit if you don't like to work there, but we the paying customer .but anyway, finally he brought us back a small dish of mixed salad, contained of 4 lettuce leaves and some bits of shredded carrots, that's all folks and we have to pay for 10.99 for the meal and another tenner for drinks..this pub give the Irish bad name indeed...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kruyfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Comet also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Victoria Comet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing