We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab at Dabbawal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dabbawal

Dabbawal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Indian restaurant in Newcastle specialising in Indian street food.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab at Dabbawal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having a lovely break in Newcastle-upon-tyne,at the last minute we were stuck for a evening meal and came across on line the Dabbawal.And we are so glad we went,a lovely experiance,food amazing and the service fantastic.Real indian cuisine.This restaurant is a MUST!! Sue & Jase Jones..Stoke-on-Trent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    229
    90
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovely place to eat. We chose to go for more tapas than main meals as there was so many things to chose from and they all looked nice. We started with a couple of dips (pickles and mint sauce) with popadoms. Some of the sharing dishes we got were bombay potatoes, paneer curry, mixed grill with prawn, chicken tikka, lamb. The food was very tasty and very well presented. Would definitely return, can't wait.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelkcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good service, good food, average prices. In all a very enjoyable evening, would go back again and recommend to friends and family

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I first visited Dabbawal several months ago, as we had always wondered what it would be like. Upon arriving, we were met by a very friendly member of staff who was eager to attend to our needs, and ensured that we were setaed as quickly as possible I prdered the Seekh Kebab Kybria and for my starter and when it arrievd it was hot and sizzling, and the aroma was tremendous. The meat was rich and succulent, with just the right amount of kick from the spices. My girlfriend ordered the Punjabi Chilli Chicken Tikka - substantial chicken pieces cooked to perfection and bursting with moist, tender flavour.

For our main courses I selected Chicken and Fresh Spinach and my girlfirend opted for the Zeera Chicken, and we were not dissapointed. Each dish had a wonderful sauce, which was filled with concentrated flavours. The chicken was delicious and the accompanying breads and rice that were also ordered complimented the mains perfectly.

All in all, we had a truly fantastic dining experience, so much so infact the we have since been again, and this time I experienced the Railway Lamb Curry which was simply superb!

I would highly recommend a vist to Dabbawal if you are looking for delicious food and excellent service. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GLall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit of an accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stumbled upon this place quite by accident wanting a coffee and a sandwich, when we sat down we were gobsmacked we were in an Indian restaurant on a hot Saturday afternoon and were considering walking out, having already had an Indian takeaway the night before. So pleased we stayed, I had a spicy chicken wrap and massala chips and my husband had a lamb wrap, which were delicious, we also had popadoms and dips which were a little different to the usual, all beautifully served, I'm pleased we stayed and will definitely return maybe on an evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snowdropdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dabbawal also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Dabbawal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing