We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Ristorante Veneto - CLOSED

Ristorante Veneto
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Popped in here tonight with an OMG voucher....

Starters were nice - the home-made tomato soup particularly good. The voucher buys you happy hour options, so basic pizza and pasta for the mains - my wife and I both went for pizza, which again was pretty decent. Desserts were good too - the cheese cake in particular.

The highlight was the service - a really friendly, attentive waiter.

Not bad at all. Will no doubt drop back in again some time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlnmouthPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    8
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst Italian restaurant I've experienced.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my partner visited here for an early mid-week dinner on the way out somewhere, so only got main courses. We both had pasta dishes (over-cooked soggy penne). We had different dishes but the sauces were exactly the same. bland watery tomato sauce (his had bits of salmon in, mine bacon, but aside from that they seemed to be the same, despite the descriptions of the dishes being quite different). We were early and should have been offered the happy meal price as it was before 6pm, yet we were charged full price.Both pasta dishes were bland and overcooked. Will definately not be returning here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice meal”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having visited a few times in the past things were much improved on this visit. We had a groupon voucher so were not to sure what to expect but it was excellent value for money and the portions were perfect. Our waiter was friendly and polite and service was quick. Will definitely go back and the happy hour deal is excellent value for money!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Value & Friendly”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited Veneto one Tuesday early evening after hearing some poor reports. But we had an OMG247 voucher.
As it happens the food and service was good no complaints. I had checked the deal against the web site prices and it looked good. However they do now have a 'Happy Hour ' menue which is not no the website. Only limited starters & puds but a fair range of Pizza & pasta.Rose wine was not included in the OMG247 deal which i believe should have been if you look at the ts&cs of the deal. Dont they all try to recover extras on these deals.
Happy Hour menue is very reasonable any way so we will return.
Give it a go for your tea saves cooking and washing up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petersun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic value”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a vast improvement since our last visit and how pleased we are we read the recent reviews .We did have a OMG voucher but the happy hour menu is very reasonable anyway and the main thing the meal was really good OK i take the point the cheese cake and fudge cake are bought in but which cheap and cheerfull restaurant doesnt??The waiter(italian guy)couldnt be faulted he even found time to let the lady on the table next to us practice her italian on him.Well done Veneto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinsondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Veneto also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing