We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different that's worth a visit!”

Mannaza Korean Restaurant
Ranked #451 of 1,265 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Something different that's worth a visit!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Me and a group of friends visited during Newcastle’s Restaurant week as the deal offered was excellent value for money. I have not had Korean style food before but the menu looked very interesting.

I went for the deep fried chicken with sweet & chilli sauce followed by the self grill marinated beef. The deep fried chicken was tasty, crispy and went well with the sauce and the portion size was perfect. The self grill beef was excellent in both taste and quality. I prefer my beef rare and given the option of self grilling the meat it was ideal for my tastes.

The service was a mixed bag. The waiting staff were polite and efficient in serving the food but seemed to rush us onto the mains. We it came to the drink service it was rather slow and I had to ask twice for my order before getting it

Mannaza is a good restaurant if you fancy something different and the self grill is a must. I would definitely visit again and try out the other dishes on offer in the near future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    59
    20
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had a great meal. All food very good. Only problem was with people cooking their own food on table grills better extraction is needed.

Helpful?
Thank Martsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“favourite restaurant in Newcastle”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

also enjoy going to this place.
I've taken friends, family, work colleagues and each enjoys the food.
refurbished last summer, the place now is a bit more upmarket and allows you to grill on your table. It was a little too basic before but the food was good, Now it actually looks like a restaurant.
They now take card payments (which is handy!)
The food has always been good and service similarly excellent.
Always try the kimchee pancake and dolcimbemimbap (stone rice/ however, you spell it).
Simple, authentic Korean food. The price is also very good.
visit with work colleagues, £52, for 3 small starters, 4 main courses, rice, two pots of tea and soft drinks all round. We didn't even touch the rice as we were nicely full.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DizMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited here with a living social voucher last month and although service was a bit hitty/missy and gangnam style was on about 4 times whilst we were there, I really enjoyed it!Lovely food and well cooked!Really enjoyed it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deadredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great authentic Korean cuisine”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It is very difficult to get Korean food outside the London area and so it is all the more surprising to find a gem like Mannaza in the Northeast, tucked away in Newcastle's Chinatown. The restaurant is a no-frills type of place but the classics are all there; great bibimbap and bulgogi. The service is professional and friendly. As one who has had Korean food in Korea and the US, it was quite surprising to find that the restaurant actually charged for its starters, which are always free. It wasn't a lot (£1.50/dish, if memory serves), but still, it tainted the authenticity of going to a Korean restaurant. Also, it is amazing to find a restaurant these days that doesn't take Visa; as it happens, we had enough cash on us. All in all, it offers very good quality for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannaza Korean Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mannaza Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing