We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with other review, la vie de France” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of cafe de vie - CLOSED

cafe de vie
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Also Newcastle's Language Cafe. locals refer to it as 'the 'french cafe'. Barista Coffee House
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Agree with other review, la vie de France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A little bit of french cafe life in Newcastle and I think it benefits from being off the beaten track. Paninis very good, soupe a l'ognion good, coffees excellent, mocha not sweet.
Takes us back to provence holidays, just need sunshine and blue skies!
Prices very reasonable £26 for drinks and sandwiches for 4.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrispDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little taste of France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having walked past this place on numerous occasions, we were chilled and hungry and decided to stop for lunch.

Once inside, I felt like I had been transported back to french cafe life. Perhaps I was swayed by the french accent of the gentleman who served us. Whilst the outside doesn't stand out as anything exceptional, the interior is typical of an old french street corner cafe. The menu is modest and the service efficient.

I had the french onion soup which was bubbling hot, topped with a layer of gooey cheese and was delicious! My otehr half had the butternut squash soup and smoked bacon and port salut baguette, which were also tasty.

They stock Sarsaparilla, Dandelion and Burdock from Villa, which took my back to my childhood.

The cafe was busy which is a good sign. Inside the cafe is cosy and has real character, unlike some of its neighbouring cafes, which can have a sterile formica feel to them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyMNcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place - can't be said for all the staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Visited twice in one day, had coffee and cake in the morning and liked the place so much returned for lunch. We were having an early dinner in the evening so didn't want too much to eat so ordered two quiches of the day which came with salad and chips between three of us. Asked the lady behind the counter if we could have an extra plate as we were sharing and she replied 'no, we don't have any extra plates at lunch times'! Was a bit taken aback so explained we were sharing to which she replied 'we don't do sharing'. She eventually agreed we could have a SMALL side plate. Fortunately the lovely young waitress did bring us a larger one when she brought our food otherwise it would have been a bit of a struggle. It's a really lovely place with a lovely atmosphere, the man behind the counter was excellent, but when some of the staff serving are not friendly or helpful it can really put you off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Jem of a place off one of the busiest shopping streets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

OMG can't believe I have never been here before. However I have passed but been to bust to stop, my bf and I called in as it was very quiet and have to say the coffee and pastry's are fabulous ! If ur in town and want good coffee with quality food ingredients then stay away from the famous costa and Starbucks and try here

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Foun this place today after reading the trip advisor reviews. We love going to France and the food is a highlight so it's great to see a little part of France in Newcastle. Lovely food, lovely staff, authentic French feel, can't believe we didn't know about the place sooner. Can't wait to go back for the tarte aux pommes.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruddoug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe de vie also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing