We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth spending a couple of hours here”

The Discovery Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth spending a couple of hours here”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Some interesting exhibits and photographs, walking distance from the city centre, nice buiding and free!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kisdon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    379
    78
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the everyone”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our grandson loved it. We liked going back in time - children of the 60's. Lovely museum for all ages

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very visual interactive experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I first learned about this centre watching "Don't tell the Bride" when a couple got married there, so when I went to Newcastle I decided I had to see it. I enjoyed the hands on nature of the experience, especially learning about astrolabes and the other giant models they have on display. The building feels very futuristic and the galleries are entertaining and not too long-winded. Children will appreciate the bright colourful displays and I enjoyed the feeling of space in the large warehouse-size play areas. A fun day out that can be appreciated by young and old alike. I did find it a bit difficult to find however. It's off on a street on its own, set back from the pavement so you can't see where it is from the end of the road it's situated on. Better ask a local.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BibianaBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great free science and technology museum”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am in the Discovery at least once a week for various reasons and am always impressed with what is on offer to the young and old alike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water feature a hit with kids”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Interesting museum, good for all ages. Plenty to keep kids entertained. If you have small ones, make sure you pack spare clothes. They love the water feature but are guaranteed to get soaked!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank emski_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Discovery Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing