We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Give yourself plenty of time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Discovery Museum

The Discovery Museum
Blandford Sq., Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4JA, England
44-191-232-6789
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we popped by here at the weekend as we were keen to find somewhere cheap (its free) & indoors while spending some time in Newcastle. We arrived at 3pm so had about 2 hours until it closed. We managed to get a pay & display parking space out the front of the building but the spaces are tight and unfortunatly we bumped another car (owner has been spoken to). If you aren't a confident driver i recommend parking at the multistorey across the road.
We made our way in and into the Story of Newcastle. it seemed very interesting although having an 18month old running around we didn't get much chance to read all the exhibits but we were able to spend a good long time walking about having a look at everything.
We then made our way upstairs to the space section which was great fun. There was a small play area for the kids and lots of interactive exhibits to try out. Although many of these were being hogged by some families and not giving other people a go. There is also a cafe on this level but we didn't venture to it.
We spent so much time at these 2 exhibits that we didn't have time to see anything else. Although i did notice that one of the exhibit spaces was closed for refurbishment so hopefully we'll return in the future to see what else it has to offer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    302
    62
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Fab museum for young kids! My two love the wet room with its ducks, boats and bridges. Bring a change of clothes as kids will get soaked. Story of newcastle history and the science lab also good too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“For a free museum, this will astound you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

With a strong historic and scientific theme, this museum has something for everyone. There is not a room you will not enjoy and there are so many things for children to do. You can enjoy "experiments", see clothing and regional heritage, there's a nice cafe serving passable food - you know, not cordon bleu but not poison not extortionate either. It has a nice shop with some interesting objects and books as you leave. All in all, it's a great time to be had and you could spend hours here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafret1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“free and worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

well worth a trip if you've got kids that love dinosaurs theres huge models and skeletons, loads of stuffed animals , interactive stuff . Romans , egyptian mummys ...the list goes on , its small scale to london museums etc but still a good tripout . only downfall , cafes tiny and pricey but your in the centre of newcastle so you can always go out .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank miaowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Free Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been in here a couple of times upon various visits to the city, and each time it still fascinates me. It has everything from social to economic history as well as bits of science and geography. There really is something for everybody, irrespective of age or interests.
What particularly impresses me is that the museum is totally free to enter. A definite must for visitors to Newcastle who have a particular interest in history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomOvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Discovery Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing