We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & welcoming”

St Nicholas Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.75*
and up
Gory Walking Tour of Newcastle
More Info
$32.75*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Peaceful & welcoming”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In the heart of the older area of the city and standing out on the skyline. it looks particularly good at night when lit up. Lots to see inside and beautiful stained glass, woodwork etc. A haven of peace in a busy city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    137
    22
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyneside uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

this is a stunning Cathedral, a must see whilst in Newcastle. A mix of new and old in a perfect spot, close to trains/busess/taxis. Very tranquil and relaxing x

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank the-hocks-famiily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have seen a couple of exhibitions there. It is a grand building but not quite in the same league as Durham Cathedral! But I must apologise for my comments as I am not a Christian.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've lived in Newcastle all my life and had never been in the cathedral. It's a lovely building and so easy to get to. well wortha visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennyLS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkham
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Found The Cathedral by chance and I'm so glad we did. It's a haven from the bustling city centre. The stained glass is amazing and there is so much of it each window depicting a story:). The alters are all carved in wood or marble. I found the Cathedral very interesting and would satisfy any age group.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank susiewoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Nicholas Cathedral also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to St Nicholas Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing