We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest of Newcastle, go straight to the Side Gallery”
Review of Side Gallery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Side Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where real life / still lives / human(e) lives still exist. A welcome oasis in the middle of a city brimming with mediocrity.

3  Thank Monopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

24 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

While I wouldn't agree with the previous reviewer, who says this is the best gallery in the north east, I would certainly say it's well-worth a visit.
I was partly brought up on Newcastle Quayside in the 1960s and 1970s and the gallery/building gives a real glimpse into how the old Quayside was before the area was gentrified - full of hidden alleys, nooks and crannies with a distinctive old-world look and smell of its own.
The documentary photography exhibitions are often startling and always enlightening with frequent artists' talks. On Saturday 6 April 2013, there is a free talk by the photographer behind the latest exhibition.
Recently, The Side has had a rocky history when it comes to funding. if you live locally, visit it, support it, love it and save it from the constant round of cuts, which it seems to face incessantly!

Thank judithmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry_Side_Gallery, Director at Side Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for such positive comments. Hope you can make it along to the photographer talk and if not, we hope to see you at Side again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This gallery provides an insight into the world of others via its wide range of exhibitions. Surrounded by interesting architecture and close to fantastic vistas on the Quayside and great places to eat you can combine it with a tourist trail or just go and stare at what are often very contemplative images.

2  Thank missfitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry_Side_Gallery, Director at Side Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Many thanks for such positive comments. We hope to see you at Side again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my favourite gallery in the north east by far and I have never been disappointed with the work they show. I have a keen interest in documentary photography and that's what the eclSide Gallery is all about. The latest exhibition 'Welcome on Board' by Patrice Terraz documents the lives of abandoned seafarers and is a very honest account of the conditions these seafarers have to live in just to make sure they are paid what they are owed, which can be several months wages. Every time I visit, I feel like I've learned something new about the world, but I've seen some exhibtions closer to home such as life in the byker wall which I had not realised was such a vibrant and eclectic neighbourhood with amazing views. As well as fantastic exhibitions, part of the charm of the Side Gallery is it's quirky setting and it's well used stairs to the upstairs gallery - a must see if you're in the area.

3  Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry_Side_Gallery, Director at Side Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Gallery also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Side Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing