We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton House Hotel
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great stay, from the warm welcome (at 11 at night) to the breakfast to the rooms - it was perfect. Don't be put off by the shared bathrooms (we nearly were), but it was just like staying at a friends house, they were large and clean- in fact better than some smaller en suites we've had in the past. Also only £5 taxi ride into town. We would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here whilst on business in Newcastle on the 13th/14th Feb. The host is very welcoming and I felt relaxed. The carpets on the stairs and some of the decorating was a little dated, but the room was nice, warm and clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to share a batroom so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forest4ever7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was made so welcome my Son & his Girlfriend stayed there too, we all had come up for a hospital visit, the rooms are lovely clean and very warm just what you need on a cold winter stay in January. The breakfast was very nice saying I'm not really a full-English breakfast person. Caterina is just so helpful and friendly lovely lady. Should we ever have to come again I most certainly would stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 479RMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and already booked in for this November. There was 3 of us in the party and like the last time we can not fault this hotel the owners are so lovely and make you feel so welcome and at home. We love our breakfast so look forward to it in the morning sets us out for our Christmas Shopping Trip at the Metro. Also this so central for the Metro centre and for Newcastle Town Centre. There's only 1 thing for you to do is stay here and you won't disappointed

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the Hotel and the view was lovely over Newcastle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lovely place, with a great hostess. A ~5 pound taxi ride from the main station. Huge Victoria building, and absolutely immaculate.

Breakfast was the full works - bacon, sausage, hash brown, beans, mushrooms, tomato, cafetiere coffee with jugs of cream or milk + all the usual continental stuff. All high quality stuff as well. About as good as breakfasts come.

I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayfaringVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have to write a second review because in my opinion, this hotel is the best in Newcastle.
If youre looking for a home from home, quiet, comfy and clean place to stay then look no further. Its out of town, no nightlife, no noise, great transport locally too.

Caterina is always welcoming, I always feel like Im coming home. She makes a fantastic breakfast and is flexible on arrival and departure times to accommodate her guests.
The rooms are not modern but are clean, have everything you need and having stayed a number of times now, all the beds ive slept in have been very comfortable.

For the price and standard of service offered this hotel is ahead of the game

Room Tip: I havce slept in three rooms now and all have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

hello
stayed 30 nov to 02 dec,nice warm & friendly hotel ,just what you want at this time of year with a verry good breakfast selection, a little far to walk into town in the cold weather but there are plenty of busses nearby and in summertime it would be fine to walk,however there is not much in the way of night life or resturants in the imediate area but still a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
1.6 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $67 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Clifton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing