We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights 21/06/12 - 23/06/12 as was attending a close mate's wedding in Hexham. Booked a single room as my missus was working and couldn't attend - room was basic, small and cosy with a very comfortable bed. Not bad at all for a budget hotel. Slight issue with no remote control - previous guest had seemingly stolen it - but the chap on reception managed to show me the manual controls for it after a fashion. Nice powerful shower. Hotel is in a quiet residential street, off a main road that has loads of hotels. Was a bar in the hotel which I didn't use, was also given a key to let myself in to the hotel late at night, as wasn't coming back from the wedding do until 1.30am. Staff were friendly and helpful, supplied an iron and ironing board on request and booked a taxi for me. Full English breakfast was rather good both mornings - no complaints there. Would happily stay there again when in Newcastle if looking for a budget hotel when visiting friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
22
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed for one night (Saturday) whilst visiting my student daughter. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and recently refurbished. Great value for money. I ate out so cannot comment on breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I booked this hotel in a rush the morning we stayed. Myself and my 17 years old daughter stayed in a twin room, B

Helpful?
Thank BigT43ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Please stay away from this hotel. It is unbelievably awful. There are cracks in the walls that look as though the whole wall might collapse at any minute. The beds were full of bugs and obviously hadn't been cleaned or changed for weeks.

We went to reception and demanded a refund and found another hotel a short taxi ride away.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonComer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have been to Dene Hotel 2 days ago.

I had probably higher expectations about this hotel. In fact, I moved from Jesmond park hotel to try the Dene as reviewers' comments in many websites were very positive.
i have found several strengths but also some weaknesses in this hotel. In general i can say that this is a good hotel in the range £ 40-60, considering the poor value offered by most hotels in this town.

WEAKNESSES

The room was very small, like the toilet and the shower. every time I had a shower i could not avoid to bump against the walls.

Rooms were not cleaned properly, to be honest some parts of the room were not cleaned at all...

The TV was the worst surprise, a small and old TV, no satellite. the remote control was not working properly so I had to push the buttons on the tv to increase or decrease the volume.

The bus service that link this area to the city centre is very bad. there were no bus going to the city centre after 7 or 8 pm. and the city centre is about 20 minutes walking. I like to walk but it can be very tiring if you do it more than once a day.

STRENGHTS

Very quiet in the day and in the night

The internet connection is of very good.

The breakfast was ok in quantity and of good quality.

The staff was always ready to help.

I have paid a good price because I spent 4 nights there (£40 x night).

The position is excellent if you want to enjoy the nightlife in Jesmond (even if club close early in the night) or if you are looking an accommodation in this area.

There is always somebody at the reception during the night

The bed is comfortable

Room Tip: room n.33 is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raffaele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Accommodating desk staff, great room which was comfortable and very clean.
Bathroom with fantastic shower also very clean.
Included breakfast was plentiful in both choice and quantity.
I needed an iron and board and they were delivered to the room almost immediately.

Room Tip: Ask for parking voucher if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just back from an overnight stay at this hotel. The room was lovely (pillows a bit flat) and clean, with a very large en-suite. The reception staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was a different matter, though - choice of cereals etc. was fine but the hot breakfast was not what we expected and clearly wasn't freshly-cooked. The beans looked as if they had congealed on the (cold) plate, some mushroomswere cooked less than others, sausage and bacon were cold and the scrambled egg bore no resemblance to any other we've had. When the pretty-much untouched plates were cleared away, we were asked straight away if it "wasn't very nice" which gave us the impression it wasn't the first time guests hadn't finished their breakfasts. Would go back if this improved.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitten9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Property: Dene Hotel
Address: 38 Grosvenor Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing