We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,492)
Filter reviews
3,492 results
Traveler rating
1,928
958
385
138
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,928
958
385
138
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millennium bridge bridge view corner suite afternoon tea sunday lunch mini bar cooked breakfast an upgrade superior room lovely hotel birthday treat car park a lovely stay hotel bar lovely room full english comfy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 3,492 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic overnight stay for our anniversary, great room overlooking the river, fantastic meal, excellent staff and lovely atmosphere. Special mention to Don, our waiter who was a credit to your organisation... thank you all

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Diggerthedog2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Dear Diggerthedog2105,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind feedback.

It is a pleasure to read your feedback. It sounds like you had a great time for your anniversary. I will be sure to share your comments with Don.

We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

Visited Malmaison yesterday for bottomless brunch with a large group of friends for a birthday. Firstly, the price of this was incredible for Malmaison, which is an amazing place to start!! Our server for the day, Tessie, made this the best brunch experience I’ve ever had! She went around our entire table introducing herself and learned all of our names, and remembered them throughout our meal! She was amazingly attentive to topping up our drinks and water regularly (which is usually a nightmare with bottomless prosecco deals!) and looked after us all amazingly, especially the birthday girl. She joined in conversation when at our table, was as helpful as could be, and was a wonderful addition to our day. Hands down the best customer service I’ve ever received in a restaurant, and I now can’t wait to come back to Malmaison. Give that girl a pay rise!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank alexdanielle3629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018


Dear alexdanielle3629,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind feedback.

It is lovely to read your comments. It sounds like you had a great time for bottomless brunch! I will be sure to share your comments with Tessie, it sounds like she really impressed your group!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to the malmaison for afternoon tea and will not be the last! Was absolutely beautiful and the staff can not do enough for you your treated like royalty! Tessie was our waitress and she made the effort to get to know us and got us anything we needed without any problems, Also Rhys was an amazing host and very friendly, made everyone feel very welcome so thank you very much and we will be back! :)

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Laaurennx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Dear Laaurennx,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind feedback.

It is fantastic to read your comments. It sounds like you had a great visit for Afternoon Tea. I will be sure to share your comments with Tessie and Rhys.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018

We visited Newcastle for an anniverasary surprise and stayed at Malmaison. The parking is free and easy, using the Sandgate carpark, just behind the hotel. We were upgraded to a superior room, absolutely stunning, and a view of the River Tyne. The hotel is located right opposite the Millenial bridge, beautiful views from the restaurant. Breakfast amazing, thanks to TIRSO and the lovely Irish lady with the sunny disposition. Thank you both, you made us so welcome.
Lovely bar staff too, so friendly!
I can't fault Malmaison at all, we had a wonderful stay!!

Room tip: Great views from higher floor. Take advantage of free parking!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainef322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Dear elainef322,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind feedback.

It is great to read your comments following your anniversary stay. I am pleased that you found our staff to be so friendly, I will be sure to share your comments with the teams.

We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

What truly fabulous staff at this hotel - they really couldn’t do enough for us. We had a family dinner for 7 in the restaurant last night & our waiter (ever so sorry but can’t recall his name, older gentleman with grey hair) was just superb, so professional, efficient & courteous, a real asset to the hotel. Food was very good, views fantastic & breakfast was just as good. We were in room 501, stunning view of the bridge, beautifully clean and everything we needed. And a very reasonable deal with breakfast & cocktails included. Will definitely return next time we are in Newcastle - super impressed. Thank you

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank louari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Dear louari,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind feedback.

It is lovely to read your kind comments. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in room 501, we are indeed very lucky with our location! I will be sure to share your feedback with the teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews