We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2006

My husband and I managed to wrangle a free night's accommodation at Malmaison by opening a new credit card with First Direct. We absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in room 207 which was a huge corner room - it did face the back of the hotel but this did not bother us as we spent the evening walking along the Quayside and taking in the views from Millennium Bridge.

The reception and bar staff were lovely and friendly. As I am heavily pregnant I asked for an unalcoholic cocktail and they came up with something just to my liking.

My husband made full use of the gym, but unfortunately we were unable to make use of the Spa as it was fully booked. Warning - ring in advance for appontments. The parking was particularly good value at £2 per 24 hours. Previous stays at other Newcastle hotels have amounted to nearly £15 in parking fees.

I was surprised to read that another reviewed could not find many restaurants nearby - within a 5 minute walk I would state that there are dozens of restaurants - all different types and price ranges. We ate at the Living Room on Greys Road, and had a wonderful experience - the staff, service and food were all excellent.

All in all we had a fabulous stay, and I could not recommend Malmaison highly enough (we have stayed in a number of Mals, and they have never ceased to impress us!)

  • Liked — The decor and huge room
  • Disliked — Darkened corridors
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a corner room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    749
    327
    130
    69
See reviews for
235
1,206
53
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Managed to get a Mal Summer Special rate and got the room for £75 (look on laterooms[--]). The room was a great size, decor very modern-french, the bed was huge and very comfy, nice LCD tv, fab bathroom and shower. (Toiletries were gorgeous and you get to keep them). I would definately stay here again as it was a bit of luxury at a low price but don't think i would pay the usual rate £140 per night. On the negative side, the mini bar isn't free, bar of chocolate cost £3.25, a can of coke £1.50, bottle of beer £3.50 and it can all add up. The breakfast looks very impressive coming in a wicker basket but didn't live up to expectations (especially when the milk turned out to be sour). They only give the option of continental breakfast in your room with cooked breakfasts nowhere to be seen.
Reception staff were very friendly and check in was very speedy - all in all an excellent stay, good far outweighed the bad - nowhere is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

Lovely quayside position with views of the Tyne. Room was spacious, light, comfortable, contemporary in design with a very high standard of decor and entertainment equipment. Despite the position, which can be noisy at the weekend, the room was remarkably quiet with absolutely no disturbance.

The bistro was the only disappointing aspect of the hotel, it is unnecessarily expensive for less than average fare, with the ambience of a coal cellar. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby.

Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Experienced_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Turned up at the hotel late in the day and managed to get a full suite for a discounted rate (but still on the pricey side!).

The room was absolutely fantastic. The toiletries were top notch, the mini bar selection was very tempting and the bedding was of such a superior quality that I visited the website and bought the pillows online! The staff were very friendly and the room service was excellent.

This is all coming from an extremely fussy person!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed at Malmaison on the night of Friday 19 May. It's a gorgeous looking hotel and the reception staff were lovely. The room was great, a big corner room with a massive bed and well furnished. It looked to be newly decorated in muted colours with mauve and white bedding, grey walls, heavy plum velvet curtains and good furniture.

The bathroom was stunning. Slate walls and floor and white tiles. The basin was one of those free standing square sinks. Everything was spotless and the toiletries good quality.

The bed was so comfortable and was covered in the finest linen. We settled down for the night after a great dinner at nearby Est Est Est. Then, at 3.00 am the people in the room next door arrived home, obviously merry, with what sounded to be loads of other people and they started to party. We eventually fell back to sleep in the early hours.

6.00 am came and suddenly there was loud thumping bass music coming from somewhere. It was really loud. We called reception but they couldn't find where it was coming from even though they'd walked the corridors. It finally stopped at 7.00 am. By that time we'd had enough.

When we left the girl on reception was very apologetic and it actually wasn't the fault of the hotel. The moral of the story is this: hotel on Newcastle Quayside on a Friday night will attract party people so if you want a quiet night you'll have to go elsewhere. It's a shame because it really is a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austriamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Took my girlfriend to the Malmaison in Newcastle for a valentines weekend. Bedroom was fantastic, lots of space and nicely furnished. The bar in the hotel has fantastic views of the Millenium bridge (Blinking Eye) and the Baltic art gallery. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimery_Riot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

I took my fiancee here in feb for a surprise birthday present. we stayed one night and would of liked it to be longer. This hotel is great, on arrival we found the staff to be very helpfull, car was parked in there very own car park (very secure), the room we got was fantastic, views over the millenium bridge, two plasma screens, etc. The hotel is quite expensive but thats because of the quality your getting and it was worth every penny, we will go again no doubt! i would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing