We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice but dissapointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice but dissapointing stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I found the facilities excellent, but the hotel overall was a bit dark. In my room I had a wardrobe in the corner that I couldn't even see with ALL the lights on! One night I was having a shower with the door open and dropped the soap, as usual it bounced out into the main room,. When I picked it up it was covered in long dark hair, I am an ex-serviceman with cropped brown hair!

Room Tip: I would suggest the Hilton, close location, better standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    760
    331
    130
    70
See reviews for
237
1,231
52
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've stayed at the Mal in Oxford a few times, so was drawn to the same brand during a recent visit to Newcastle. And, whilst I don't think this one is quite as good as the Oxford one, it's still good. Lovely building, good location, nice rooms, cool bar area, same great breakfast. Small spa area. Starbucks adjacent to reception. Worth a visit

Room Tip: Basic rooms can be small, worth paying a little extra for the upgrades closer to check-in (readily o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank property4wealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went here with my girlfriend for my birthday in 2013 and was pleasantly surprised. The presentation of the hotel is very atmospheric and pleasing. The room was outstanding in quality and cleanliness considering the great economical prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ziplock9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I booked 2 standard rooms here, both were much bigger than expected! Bed was uncomfortable but that was only thing wrong and probably just personal taste. Everything was very clean and seemed newish. Bar area very nice too. I'd recommend their cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EG1980EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked this hotel as is close to where I got married and in great location on quayside for pre wedding photographs. Booked via booking.com but then paid £60 to upgrade room to a suite. Suite we were giving was a corner plot, lots of space idea for morning of wedding with people coming and going and getting ready. I also booked my mam into a large double room, the view of the millennium bridge was amazing, especially at night when the bridge was all lit up different colours. On night before wedding I made use of the spa which I found to be very relaxing and would recommend it to anyone who stays. We all went for a meal at the bistro which was nice. As when we returned a married couple we had booked into a different room for the night of wedding, arriving late at night checking for the key for the door was a matter of second and when inside the room another corner plot there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us, all of my belongings from the other room I had previously were all there neatly in the sitting are of the huge room. I have stayed in lots of Malmaison’s around the country, this is one is closets in location to me but is my favourite on so far.

Room Tip: Upgrate to a suite, but large doubles on the river side are also fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realrjns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a short break in late February to discover Newcastle. We were anxious to see the Millennium Bridge and the Angel of the North and just get the flavour of a city we had never been to before. The hotel was at the foot of the Millennium bridge so we saw it in all its moods. The Staff were wonderfully encouraging, telling us when it was to rise and talking of its history. The bridges across the Tyne are so varied and exciting. The Staff at the hotel gave us maps and timetables and lots of local information. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and the food (breakfast and a dinner) was of a very high quality. Everywhere, we met friendliness and helpfulness. We really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angusangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Good decor. A bit dark. Mattress was a bit too firm for us. The bath was hard to get in and out of and the toilet was in a awkward spot next to the sink. Not great for elderly or chubby people. On the plus side, the standard double we stayed in had an ironing board and iron. The room itself was spacious and the location was great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amrita100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,212 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Property: Malmaison Newcastle
Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing